Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 52

    Moving to Sky from O2

    This is a discussion on Moving to Sky from O2 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Okay will do, this is the kind of info that i would have found useful. Scubbie you don't fill me ...

    1. #31
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Okay will do, this is the kind of info that i would have found useful.

      Scubbie you don't fill me with confidence that ill see any more speed lol

      I'll see what happens after DLM finishes, if no increase is it worth a call to Sky?

      Andy
      Last edited by daddyp81; 16-01-13 at 02:36 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Interestingly, mysky say my line is not currently on DLM, could this mornings resync just be a swap over to PPPoA?

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by daddyp81 View Post
      Okay will do, this is the kind of info that i would have found useful.

      Scubbie you don't fill me with confidence that ill see any more speed lol

      I'll see what happens after DLM finishes, if no increase is it worth a call to Sky?
      You Noise Margin is already quite low, which is why I am not so sure that it will get much higher. I will be happy to be proven wring though.

      Quote Originally Posted by daddyp81 View Post
      Interestingly, mysky say my line is not currently on DLM, could this mornings resync just be a swap over to PPPoA?
      The is likely. DLM normally starts around 3 days after the connection was completed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Here's today's reading

      Moving to Sky from O2-imageuploadedbytapatalk1358408048.508861.jpg

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      I think that you should perhaps look at your telephone wiring and how everything is connected up.

      Could you take some pictures of any BT Junction boxes and also describe from fresh how everything is connected please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I think that you should perhaps look at your telephone wiring and how everything is connected up.

      Could you take some pictures of any BT Junction boxes and also describe from fresh how everything is connected please?
      Hey Scubbie, many thanks for your continued interest and advice.

      At the property there are 3 phone sockets. The master socket is in a bedroom, had a split faceplate and test socket. The phone line from the pole goes straight into this socket. This is the socket that the router is plugged into and is the only thing plugged into it. I put a pre filtered faceplate onto this socket and I also disconnected the ringer wire. I now get no discern able difference in router stats between faceplate and test socket.

      There is a second socket in the kitchen which we do not use. I removed the faceplate and disconnected to ringer wire anyway.

      The third socket is downstairs in the lounge and I disconnected to ringer wire here too. This socket has a brand new adsl filter from sky attached directly, into which I plug our idect house phone only.

      The Sky box is not connected to any phone line.

      Connected to the router is an Ethernet cable into a netgear home plug which services the PC, which is in another room and is rarely used.

      Connected wirelessly we have 2 iPhones, 2 iPads and 2 Apple TV's.

      If u need any pictures, will have to wait till I get home if that's ok

      Cheers

      Andy

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      That is good. I think you described some of it previously and I appreciate you repeating it. I'm kind of multi-tasking at the moment so thank you.

      Since you are using a filtered faceplate, all your extensions should be pre-filtered too and no longer required any microfilters. To confirm this, if the filtered faceplate is removed, they should be dead.

      Is there anything in the wiring between the NTE5 Socket (the Master socket with the split faceplate) and where the telephone cable leaves your home? Particular interest to any boxes or joints in the wiring.

      Also if there is any loose connection at the back of the NTE5 socket, this could be an issue.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      From what I remember it all looks good, clean tidy inside the master socket with nothing looking loose or any joins in wiring.

      The wire from the master socket just runs directly out of the wall, tracks up the outside wall a little then jumps across about 40-50ish foot to the telephone pole.

      I can't remember any junction boxes or joins in the wire on the outside of my property, but would need to confirm that tonight.

      Andy

    10. #39
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      No problem.

      If you could plug a corded telephone into the Master Socket, dial '1' and listen carefully, do you hear any loud noise, crackling or a noise like a high-pitched fax machine? You may hear a faint hissing noise, which would be acceptable.

      It might be that the type of telephone line which you are physically connected to will not support a faster speed. This way we can rule out some outside forces which can be dealt with.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #40
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Right then, have plugged a corded phone in and performed quiet line test which showed no echo and only a little noise, the line is working as intended.

      Can confirm no junction box or joins between pole and wall of my house.

      Here is a pic of the master socket.

      Moving to Sky from O2-imageuploadedbytapatalk1358446666.199164.jpg

      I guess I'll just have to suck it and see with regards DLM process.

      Cheers Scubbie, much appreciated.

      Andy

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION