Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree2Likes

    What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

    This is a discussion on What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I always check the whois type sites whenever i have a ip address change. The only one that ever gets ...

    1. #11
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      I always check the whois type sites whenever i have a ip address change.

      The only one that ever gets it right & lists my actual town is here:
      IP addresses - utrace - locate IP addresses and domainnames

      All others show me as being in london or skipton.
      Last edited by gymno; 12-12-12 at 01:15 PM. Reason: fixed link


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      I always check the whois type sites whenever i have a ip address change.

      The only one that ever gets it right & lists my actual town is here:
      IP addresses - utrace - locate IP addresses and domainnames

      All others show me as being in london or skipton.
      It would be right for me too, if I lived in Cheadle, wherever that is.
      gymno likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Think he was in oceans' eleven

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Don't they use the SatNav on the iPad to get this information?
      dragon2611 likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      dragon2611 (12-12-12)

    7. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      I think Apple Location Services uses a combination of cellular, Wi-Fi, and GPS. If you don't have 2/3g it uses 'crowd sourced' WiFi. This means it looks at WiFi networks around you and uses that to work out where you are.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #16
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think Apple Location Services uses a combination of cellular, Wi-Fi, and GPS. If you don't have 2/3g it uses 'crowd sourced' WiFi. This means it looks at WiFi networks around you and uses that to work out where you are.
      I think Scubbie was referring to apple Maps and it's well known issues with not actually getting places in the correct location :-/

    9. #17
      mmarsh's Avatar
      mmarsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Well if you are connecting using Sky broadband you have got to use the Sky servers. The b0fff641.bb.sky.com you quote, is the host name of the server, located near Skipton in Yorkshire. IP address 176.255.246.65, That is all.
      So fundamentally wrong, wrong, wrong! Go and read O'Reilly's "TCP/IP Network Administration" book. In the TCP/IP 5 layer model, routing protocols have nothing to do with the HTTP protocol. As a home user, my IP packets are routed to the internet via gateways (e.g. routers running RIP software) that you can see using utilities like 'netstat -nr' and 'traceroute'. Routing protocols work around the Internet Layer. If SKY wanted to, they could direct all outbound HTTP requests directly to the internet without involving their own bb.sky.com web servers. The HTTP protocol is defined at the Application Layer and has nothing to do with routing. So my question stills stands. Why are the bb.sky.com web servers there and what do they do? As they are Akamai web servers I assume that they are probably relieving SKY of web traffic but that's just a guess.

    10. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      As they are Akamai web servers I assume that they are probably relieving SKY of web traffic but that's just a guess.
      At a guess, probably for allowing people to download stuff for On Demand etc, I would assume that Sky have these servers etc at various exchanges, so as to stop the need to shift data around their network. Perhaps?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #19
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      As I said earlier it wouldn't surprise me if Akamai have on network CDN nodes given the size of sky as an ISP.

      Sites like the BBC.etc use Akamai to serve the media content/images.etc

    12. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: What is *.bb.sky.com doing on port 80 (HTTP)?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      As I said earlier it wouldn't surprise me if Akamai have on network CDN nodes given the size of sky as an ISP.

      Sites like the BBC.etc use Akamai to serve the media content/images.etc
      That.....




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION