Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 38

    Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

    This is a discussion on Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Lenaldo That floor is lovely and clean You only really need pins 2 and 5 connected on ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Quote Originally Posted by Lenaldo View Post


      That floor is lovely and clean
      You only really need pins 2 and 5 connected on the faceplate.

      What wires are connected to what pins?

      ie

      1)
      2)
      3)
      4)
      5)
      6)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Lenaldo's Avatar
      Lenaldo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Houghton-le-Spring
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You only really need pins 2 and 5 connected on the faceplate.

      What wires are connected to what pins?

      ie

      1)
      2)
      3)
      4)
      5)
      6)
      1) White cable with blue dashes - Pin 5
      2) White cable with green dashes - Pin 5
      3) White cable with orange dashes - Pin 3
      4) Orange cable with white dashes - Pin 3
      5) Blue cable with white dashes - Pin 2
      6) Green cable with white dashes - Pin 2

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Quote Originally Posted by Lenaldo View Post
      1) White cable with blue dashes - Pin 5
      2) White cable with green dashes - Pin 5
      3) White cable with orange dashes - Pin 3
      4) Orange cable with white dashes - Pin 3
      5) Blue cable with white dashes - Pin 2
      6) Green cable with white dashes - Pin 2
      How confident are you to remove all except the ones in pins 2 and 5?

      Just be prepared to put them back in if phone goes off

      If this works you should see a huge improvement

      Do not try if you feel uncomfortable


      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Lenaldo (29-11-12)

    6. #14
      Lenaldo's Avatar
      Lenaldo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Houghton-le-Spring
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      How confident are you to remove all except the ones in pins 2 and 5?

      Just be prepared to put them back in if phone goes off

      If this works you should see a huge improvement

      Do not try if you feel uncomfortable


      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
      I'll get the father to do that tomorrow (so I don't face his wrath if I mess up) and see how it goes. Thanks.

      Once the wires are out we're going to try this back in the master socket or still using the test socket?

    7. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Once the wires are out it will rule out internal wiring errors theoretically

      This should practically make it the same as being in the master once in an extension if that makes sense

      You will still need filters unless you replace the faceplate for a filtered one

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #16
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      I'm assuming the pairs in 2 & 5 are for extensions? Once you have removed the wire, then you can try connecting the router to the master socket (still with a filter attached)

      It's worth doing as NewsReader has said to try and eliminate interference from the bell wire, although I'd be surprised if this caused such a spike in the noise. The VDSL plate is worth the money in my opinion and a doddle to fix - no need to mess around with the wires.

    9. #17
      Lenaldo's Avatar
      Lenaldo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Houghton-le-Spring
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      Awoke this morning and checked the router page to see our speed had gone up from 1.5Mb to 2Mb (Still in test socket)



      I'll get the wires from pin 3 out shortly and try the router back in the front of the master to see how that goes.

      As for the filtered faceplate is it worth getting one if I'm still thinking about jumping on the fibre bandwagon? As from what I understand they fit one anyway.

      Cheers to everyone for the help so far, it's nice to feel progress

    10. #18
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      If you're going fibre, then a VDSL pate will be fitted anyway, so save those pennies!

    11. #19
      Lenaldo's Avatar
      Lenaldo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Houghton-le-Spring
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      We've removed the 2 orange wires from pin 3 and put the router back in the master socket. The phones work however the internet continues to drop when the phone is in use

    12. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Stuck in the loop (slow speeds, poor connection, support issues)

      By 'in use' do you mean just plugged in, or when you are actually using the landline for phone calls?

      If this is the case, then it sounds like a specific identifiable fault which should be easily resolved by a BTO Engineer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION