Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    SR101 wifi question

    This is a discussion on SR101 wifi question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've noticed in the following in the Sky Hub SR101 log: "Wifi Monitor:Restarting wlan" Just wondering what it means? It ...

    1. #1
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SR101 wifi question

      I've noticed in the following in the Sky Hub SR101 log:

      "Wifi Monitor:Restarting wlan"

      Just wondering what it means? It had appeared a couple of times in he last 24 hours or so. The stats show the WLAN up-time as having no dropouts since the router was turned on.

      Just wanted to know what it was and if its normal.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,287
      Thanks
      347
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Got the following response from Sky to my enquiry about this message when I noticed it back in July/August: "This message is recorded in the log as part of the normal operation of the router. This is a deliberate event to prevent an error that the router may have detected. This will not negatively affect the performance of the router and isn’t a sign of any failure or issue with the unit."
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    4. #3
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 wifi question

      Thanks.

      Any idea what sort of error it's detecting?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SR101 wifi question

      "This message is recorded in the log as part of the normal operation of the router. This is a deliberate event to prevent an error that the router may have detected. This will not negatively affect the performance of the router and isn’t a sign of any failure or issue with the unit."
      He should just have said 'I don't know what it is but don't worry about it.'

      Is it possible the router changing its wireless channel to a more suitable one? If your router channel is set to Automatic there is a good chance this is the cause. If you are set to a single manual channel, then it wont be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: SR101 wifi question

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you are set to a single manual channel, then it wont be.
      Then...don't worry about it, it's normal . *sarcasm

    7. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,287
      Thanks
      347
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: SR101 wifi question

      Quote Originally Posted by RamboRab View Post
      Thanks.

      Any idea what sort of error it's detecting?
      My suspicion, as Isitme suggests, is that it's detecting an error when automatically changing the wireless channel. No idea what the error actually is though! And as the others say, nothing to worry about really.

      (My original response the OP's question simply quoted the reply I got from Sky when I reported seeing this message during the beta testing of the Sky Hub. I think I've seen it in the router log once since then).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    8. #7
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: SR101 wifi question

      To rest your worries, try setting the channel manually in the router, if the errors disappear from the log then you can rest easy =D. Knowing the source of the problem makes me feel better at least.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION