Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

    This is a discussion on Is the new sky hub good for gaming? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there what is this new low power sky hub does it have problems with having moderate Nat settings for ...

    1. #1
      johnking90's Avatar
      johnking90 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      Hi there what is this new low power sky hub does it have problems with having moderate Nat settings for gaming like my sagem f@ast 2504 router? would i benefit from buying the sky hub? is it good?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      Some members appear to be saying that their experience has been to find that it is 'moderate'. I am not sure if this is because the European broadband is faster than ours.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      Can only comment on my experience with Black Ops 2 on the PC. NAT was coming up as Strict, or occasionally Moderate. I googled until I found the appropriate ports to open and now the NAT is open and no issues at all.

    5. #4
      jaffaman's Avatar
      jaffaman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDPCHVN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Peacehaven
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      What ports did you open as mine was Strict on Zombies and Moderate on MP i have opened up some ports and have got it to Moderate on both MP and Zombies but i would like it st to Open

    6. #5
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      No problems my end. Setup my Xbox 360 with LAN IP only and let the UPNP handle the ports. My NAT is set to open. Faultless! I also don't play BLOP2, only checked the NAT on MW3.

    7. #6
      bake73's Avatar
      bake73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: xbmc
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      I've got my xbox set on a static ip in the hub and it always says open in blops2.

    8. #7
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Is the new sky hub good for gaming?

      Quote Originally Posted by jaffaman View Post
      What ports did you open as mine was Strict on Zombies and Moderate on MP i have opened up some ports and have got it to Moderate on both MP and Zombies but i would like it st to Open
      After a bit of googling I found somewhere that recommended the following, and it certainly worked for me.

      TCP for port 3074 and range 27014-2707.

      UDP for port 3074, 3478, range 4379-4380 and range 27000-27030.

      This was for PC gaming, not sure if it is different for PS3 or Xbox etc.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION