Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

    This is a discussion on Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guy's I am experiencing a few issues with my broadband unlimited , My download speed is set at 3 ...

    1. #1
      Liam89's Avatar
      Liam89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Hi guy's

      I am experiencing a few issues with my broadband unlimited ,
      My download speed is set at 3 meg and my upload is a mere 253 ,

      Would this affect things such as online play via xbox live ,

      Is there any answer as to why my upload speed is so low ,
      I have contacted sky on numerous occasions regarding this issue
      and they don't seem to understand and say that the upload speed is fine for my line ,
      Is there anymore that can be squeezed out of this upload.

      Here are my current hub stats incase they are needed :

      Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?-untitled.jpg

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3070 kbps 253 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5 dB 37.1 dB
      Noise Margin 7.6 dB 15.15 dB


      Any help would be greatly appreciated

      Thanks
      Liam.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Looking at your noise margin there does not seem to be any reason why they should not be able to raise your upload speed. As you say it is very low. I would keep calling and asking them to raise it till you get someone who is prepared to do it for you. It looks like you have been put on a 3072/256 Profile, why I don't know as it looks like your line is capable of better. You would probably get the best result if you asked them to restart DLM training on your line. If they will not do this, ask if you can be moved to G.DMT, which is plain ADSL. This mode may suit your line better than ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Liam89 (15-11-12)

    5. #3
      Liam89's Avatar
      Liam89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Thanks Isitme ,

      I have contacted sky and they have put the line on a 10 training period ,
      I have asked the representative why it couldn't be raised ,
      And i got the reply that is the only maximum speed the line can hold before any errors occur ,
      My friend has explained the same thing as you have replied
      Just wonder why they can raise it and if they could would this affect the download speed ?

      Thanks again

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      I have contacted sky and they have put the line on a 10 training period ,
      If they have truly done this and are not just fobbing you off, then you should see an improvement in the up speed and maybe down as well. Check your stats each day, if the WAN uptime shows a resync in the early hours, then DLM is running. It may not resync every night but it should do several times over the period. If it does not show a resync then it is not. In the meantime, don't reboot your router or disconnect it from the power.

      Improving the upload should not reduce your download.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Liam89 (15-11-12)

    8. #5
      Liam89's Avatar
      Liam89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Just checked my sky account just now ,
      And it states this :

      Your Connection Details
      We constantly monitor your line to make sure it has been set to support the fastest speed possible whilst maintaining a stable connection.

      Line connection testing completed on 16/10/2012, resulting in the following settings:

      Download speed setting
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to 4.1Mbps .

      Upload speed setting
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to 0.5Mbps .

      These line settings make sure that your line maintains a stable connection.

      So maybe they havent or it just takes a while for the account to update maybe ?

      Thanks again

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Don't take too much notice of the Web site, it is nearly always 2 or 3 days behind real time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #7
      Liam89's Avatar
      Liam89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      So would you recommend that i get back in contact with sky ? ,
      And whats the best course of action when i do

      Thanks

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Why should you? If they have told you they have restarted DLM training, leave it at that and see what happens.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Liam89 (15-11-12)

    13. #9
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      As Isitme said, keep an eye on the WAN up time. As long as you see it syncing over night, then you know DLM is running. If there's been no resync for a couple of days and the website hasn't changed to say training has started, then you've been fobbed off. Personally, it's previously taken me three calls to Sky to get DLM training re-run.
      itype likes this.

    14. #10
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Slow Upload Speed Affect Gaming ?

      Or, as it was in my case, if you don't have line rental with Sky then they "CANNOT" re-run the DLM service for some reason, at least that's what the techi said.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION