Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    loss of speed

    This is a discussion on loss of speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i am not far away from exchange and was getting around 19 / 20 mb but over the last ...

    1. #1
      darrenx's Avatar
      darrenx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: sky terabite
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      middlesbrough
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      loss of speed

      Hi i am not far away from exchange and was getting around 19 / 20 mb but over the last few days has droped to 13mb anyone got ideas how to fix this have phoned sky and they gona look into it. Ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Nik73's Avatar
      Nik73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      I've got exactly the same problem Darren, was getting about 18mb but since Friday it's been around 12mb and is constantly freezing. Thing is, there's no way it's running at 12mb as web browsing is painfully slow and I can't watch any streaming video as it stutters even on the lowest setting. I've tried resetting the router, plugging it in the master socket, wired connection, etc but no joy.
      I've had Sky BB for over four years and never had a single fault with it. It's never slowed down or disconnected once. Very Strange.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      To both - It always helps when you fill in the exchange name in your Profile. If the problem is with a particular exchange it is then obvious.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      darrenx's Avatar
      darrenx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: sky terabite
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      middlesbrough
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      the exchange is middlesbrough with following..

      line attenuation 22 db (down) 25.7 (up)
      noise margin 6.4db (down) 8.57 db (up)

      con speed 1374 (up) 613 (down)

      am spittin distance from exchange

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      Can you copy and paste your stats please? What you are showing cannot possibly be correct.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      If you've not changed anything, then could be a problem at the exchange and/or cabinet.

      Do you know if the router is dropping its connection often?

    8. #7
      darrenx's Avatar
      darrenx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: sky terabite
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      middlesbrough
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      Here they are am having run round with sky they say may be fault but have had it cancled once by Open reach... over a week now.
      System Up Time: 24:17:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 453451 570668 0 454 5070 24:07:10
      LAN Up 51309 44928 0 122 208 24:17:42
      WLAN Up 715723 565157 0 5870 717 24:17:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13746 kbps 613 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 dB 25.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.1 dB 8.5 dB

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: loss of speed

      Your upload should be much higher. This to me indicates either a line fault or a fault in the exchange equipment. This is backed up by your download being a good bit lower than it should be.

      Have you checked your voice line for noise? A quick way is to dial one digit and listen. You should hear nothing except maybe a very faint hiss. If there is nothing obvious all you can do is keep on at Sky to get your line fixed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION