Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

    This is a discussion on Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Everyone Ever since sky upgraded me from their 2MBit 2GB package to the 8MBit unlimited package I've had problems. ...

    1. #1
      bonger's Avatar
      bonger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

      Hi Everyone

      Ever since sky upgraded me from their 2MBit 2GB package to the 8MBit unlimited package I've had problems. When on the 2MBit service I got a solid 2MBit. Moving to the 8MBit service saw my rates drop to 0.2MBit, I eventually got sky to accept it was something their end and I got 1.5MBit - which I grudgingly accepted. (this was about 2 years ago)

      Over the past month performance has deteoriated, I now get 0.5MBit if I'm lucky. Spoken to sky and I get the master socket, filters thing. I did it all - just in case, it all made no difference.

      they said a remote line test indicated noise on the line.

      Can someone tell me if the stat below are indicative of a noisy line please? Any other advice would also be much appreciated.

      Many thanks
      John

      System Up Time 35:35:32
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 24050 26656 0 289 1808 03:41:39
      LAN 10M/100M 42276 25839 0 35 15 35:35:28
      WLAN 11M/54M 436474 337499 0 3792 350 35:35:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 511 kbps 518 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 32.5 db
      Noise Margin 3.0 db 11.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

      yes something is causing noise or interference but if maybe your line would be better g.dmt rather than asdl2 , plug just router in test socket without anything else post stats , for line check do same with telephone dial 1 for quiet line check should clear very low noise

    4. #3
      bonger's Avatar
      bonger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

      Hi there

      Thank you for your advice.

      I've now tried the test socket and obtained:

      System Up Time 00:01:19
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA/MER 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN 10M/100M 376 0 0 672 0 00:01:15
      WLAN 11M/54M 718 673 0 2242 1204 00:01:09
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 511 kbps 456 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 32.2 db
      Noise Margin 14.6 db 9.0 db

      I then tried the master socket and got very similar results. I then moved back to my original location and got similar results again, see below:

      System Up Time 00:01:53
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 659 1183 0 780 26417 00:01:00
      LAN 10M/100M 614 101 0 771 167 00:01:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 1833 1256 0 16495 1174 00:01:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 511 kbps 477 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 32.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 10.0 db

      The thing I'm unsure about is, does a higher noise margin indicate a 'good' thing? I'm assuming so. I'm wondering if somehow the master plug into the test socket (when the face plate goes back on) was not on properly.

      I also did a quiet line test and it seems ok to me, no noises, crackles, etc.

      I'm still connecting at low speed though? Is this because something now needs to be adjusted at sky's end? Should I consider using the manual adjustment as part of the sky router tool??

      Thanks for your help and any more advice much appreciated

      Cheers
      John

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

      I'm wondering if somehow the master plug into the test socket (when the face plate goes back on) was not on properly.
      That is a distinct possibility. Call Sky again and ask them to configure your line as you have made improvements to the wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      bonger's Avatar
      bonger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speed - advice appreciated

      Thanks. I did live chat with a helpful advisor and they reconfigured the line. I'm not at 2.5MBit. That's about as good as I'll get I think given my distance from the exchange. Much happier now.

      Thanks to those who contributed

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION