Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16
    Like Tree3Likes

    Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

    This is a discussion on Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had slow broadband issues due to a fault with exchange hardware, the engineer has been to exchange to fix ...

    1. #1
      icklejitta's Avatar
      icklejitta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Priory
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      I had slow broadband issues due to a fault with exchange hardware, the engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....
      The phones dial tone and my broadband cut out for a few minutes ( I assume this is when he is replacing the parts in the exchange that were faulty )
      My connection speed has remained the same.

      Would it be a good idea to reboot my router to see if Im now able to get the 12MB speed Sky said I will get when its fixed?
      I can't call Sky right now as their systems are down.
      Last edited by icklejitta; 05-11-12 at 10:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,892
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      Certainly a single power cycle may help, otherwise leave it on. Hopefully DLM will pick it up and improve your connection speed within the next few days. If by Thursday it hasn't adjusted the connection speed, give Sky a friendly call.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      icklejitta's Avatar
      icklejitta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Priory
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      Would Sky be able to reset the speed straight away as Ive had to make do with slow internet for 8 days now. Just wondering.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      It would have been better if you had continued with the thread you had open on this matter.-
      Recent slowed connection - why?

      Post the stats you have now and we will see if there is any improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      icklejitta's Avatar
      icklejitta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Priory
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      I know there isn't an improvement...
      Yet...

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      Quote Originally Posted by icklejitta View Post
      I know there isn't an improvement...
      Yet...
      Then you would be better calling Sky now, any improvement to the line would show immediately in your stas.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      icklejitta's Avatar
      icklejitta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Priory
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      My speed has gone up, by about 1 MB....
      Very dissappointed as the engineer told me I will be able to get 10MB at least.
      Sky tried setting at 10MB but the speed just dropped to 4MB...

      I give up Overall Im still about 1.5MB less than what I have been getting.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      Do you want to go to the bother of posting your stats again, or are you just going to call it a day and wait till you move to fibre?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      icklejitta's Avatar
      icklejitta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Priory
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      System Up Time: 73:01:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 226495430 110946211 0 0 0 03:33:37
      LAN Up 6272125 3465984 0 0 0 73:01:22
      WLAN Up 3699067 3189857 0 3 0 73:01:22
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5021 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 dB 25.3 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 23.23 dB

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Engineer has been to exchange to fix a fault on my line....

      They have made a real mess of your upload. I would give it a couple of days for it to settle down then call them back and ask them to configure your line again. With a bit of luck you may get 6Mb and about .8 mb up. As I've said before there is no way you are going to get 10-12Mb, whoever told you that was talking through the wrong hole.
      itype likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION