Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 56
    Like Tree1Likes

    Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

    This is a discussion on Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You can remove any plug in filters you are using as they are no longer required, You can now call ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      You can remove any plug in filters you are using as they are no longer required,

      You can now call Sky and ask them to reconfigure your line as you have made improvements to your wiring. Having this done by DLM training would be best but I believe this privilege has been withdrawn from the first line support. There is no harm in asking them to do this. It looks like your line will support 3-4 Mb.

      Remember that only the ADSL port in the Master socket can be used for broadband, it is filtered out of all your other sockets.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Once again thank you for taking the time to help. Much appreciated.
      I'll ring them once I have time.

      Would a new router help? this ones taken a few falls/knocks and it is I reckon 4 or 5 years old?

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      I doubt if it will help your download speed, but if you are using up to date wireless N devices, then upgrading to the Sagem 2504N or the new Sky hub would improve the wireless performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Right, cheers for that.
      I might have the chance of getting a cheap Sagem 2504N, but not directly through sky. Is it just a matter of swapping routers or do I have to get on to sky?
      thanks

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Unless its been blocked, any Sky router will plug and play on any Sky ADSL broadband connection. Sky will not give you help in connecting a router unless you buy it from them, even one of their own routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Having this done by DLM training would be best but I believe this privilege has been withdrawn from the first line support.
      I think it depends on who you are talking to. I was told twice that DLM had been restarted, when it hadn't. The third time I called, they did restart training. I think this was 1st line, unless they'd asked 2nd line to do this on their behalf. BTW, this was after getting a filtered faceplate fitted too. They ran a line test, then restarted DLM.

    8. #37
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      How do you know that they are doing DLM?

      When I rang the time before last they said they were going to monitor my line, would that indicate DML?
      But when I rang last a week later I was told they hadnt been monitoring my line, but informed me that my line was not coping with what it was doing so my speed was lowered/capped.

    9. #38
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by Dazzle View Post
      How do you know that they are doing DLM?
      Two things: First, your "My Broadband" we page will show that training started on a new date. Secondly, you should see the WAN re-connecting overnight, normally midnight to 6am.

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post
      I think it depends on who you are talking to. I was told twice that DLM had been restarted, when it hadn't. The third time I called, they did restart training. I think this was 1st line, unless they'd asked 2nd line to do this on their behalf. BTW, this was after getting a filtered faceplate fitted too. They ran a line test, then restarted DLM.
      I based this on a statement by one of Sky's support agents who posts regularly on the forum. I have no personal experience of this. DLM is supposed to run continuously on the line, unless it is suspended. This is not in 'training mode', but a monitoring mode which will reduce the line speeds if it finds too many errors. It is supposed to increase the speed if the line improves but this seldom, if ever happens on ADSL, although it does on Fibre lines.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Sorry, should have been clearer - I was referring to the 'training' mode only. When I phoned up to ask for the line to be re-trained, I was told twice that they'd set it up, when they hadn't. Third time lucky, they set it up and the My Broadband page showed that training had (re)started.

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION