Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 56
    Like Tree1Likes

    Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

    This is a discussion on Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'll get on ASAP is the link that was posted a recommended site. i do want a proper one. It ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      I'll get on ASAP is the link that was posted a recommended site. i do want a proper one.
      It is highly recommended, you will not find better. The owner is a regular contributor to this forum and gives an excellent service.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Dazzle (25-10-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Just thinking, to clarify.....the sky fella thought that the faceplate may be faulty as plugging directly into master socket made the broadband faster.
      If I get this adapter then the router plugs directly into the top socket.
      The bottom socket would be for a phone if I wanted one there.

    5. #13
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      That's correct. Top socket is filtered for ADSL, bottom is left unfiltered for phone.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to mattan For This Useful Post:

      Dazzle (25-10-12)

    7. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      .the sky fella thought that the faceplate may be faulty as plugging directly into master socket made the broadband faster.
      He was talking nonsense. The reason the speed improved when using the Test socket is that you take the internal wiring out of the equation. The internal wiring causes interference and slows down the broadband. The filtered plate isolates the internal wiring giving you a direct connection to the Test socket. As you say the top socket is for ADSL and the bottom one, which is filtered, is for the phone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Dazzle (25-10-12)

    9. #15
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Thanks Isitme again. Thats crystal now. I'll get one ordered ASAP

    10. #16
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As you say the top socket is for ADSL and the bottom one, which is filtered, is for the phone.
      I never get the filtered/unfiltered the right way around!

    11. #17
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post

      might be worth posting your router stats here as the approximate speed can be worked out from the line attenuation and noise margin.
      Heres the stats tonight can anyone tell me what speeds I should be getting?
      System Up Time: 05:56:20
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 360820 522360 0 1902 30453 05:55:30
      LAN 100M/Full 227679 184507 0 8961 1533 05:56:15
      WLAN 11M/54M 385553 266246 0 22546 1072 05:56:02
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1870 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 12 db

    12. #18
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      You could probably get 2-4Mbps with that line attenuation

    13. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      It depends on what noise margin improvement you see with the filtered plate. With your attenuation and a good external line, you could get somewhere between 4-6 Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    14. #20
      Dazzle's Avatar
      Dazzle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my broadband finding its true speed or just all over the place.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It depends on what noise margin improvement you see with the filtered plate. With your attenuation and a good external line, you could get somewhere between 4-6 Mb.
      Today at around 1:30pm I couldnt connect at all to any internet sites.
      I could however see the router stats. My dl speed was showing as 1824 Kbps which it had been all day (Im constantly checking speeds)
      I thought rather than turning my router on and off, as all lights were green, I would ring sky, I think Ive made a big mistake!
      Went through the usuall check list then finally reset the router.
      Then I did get full internet acess.

      He then put me on hold to see about the speed.
      He told me my area was at the lowest 300 to a max of 1500 and now Im only getting 921Kbps which is half I was getting this morning.
      He says thats all I can get as if any higher then the problem of disconnecting will continue.
      Gutted!

      System Up Time: 00:30:03
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1646 1721 0 222 928 00:21:21
      LAN 100M/Full 5339 6338 0 1630 609 00:29:58
      WLAN 11M/54M 1844 345 0 123 16 00:29:45
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 921 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION