Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

    This is a discussion on Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I hope that you will be able to answer my queries. I am due to have my broadband ...

    1. #1
      cuna84's Avatar
      cuna84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Hi guys,

      I hope that you will be able to answer my queries. I am due to have my broadband turned on tomorrow (Sky Broadband unlimited) and I have been reading about the what happens during the first 10 days, and I know that your speed will gradually be turned up as time goes on. Now my main query is how should I have my router set up. Ideally because I only have one phone socket in the flat (in the hallway), and I would like the router in the long run to be placed in the living room, allowing easier connections to my TV and to the Sky box. This would involved a LAN cable being used from the socket (via a microfilter of course) to then connect to my router in a different room. Would this affect my line speeds, during the initial 10 days testing? If so, should I connect my router directly to the socket for the moment until the 10 days has passed, and then move it after that. My guess is to set up the router as I will have it in the long run. Any advice here will be gratefully received!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      If you have the router plugged in in a different room, as long as the cable is a decent quality you should be fine.

      Have you got the master socket in the hallway?

      If so it maybe an idea to check the stats of the router in the test socket in the hallway, then test again in the other room, this will give you an idea of how good your internal wiring is.

      You are somehow going to have to get the ADSL signal from the hallway to the other room, and a LAN cable wouldn't fit in the socket iirc

      You maybe best running a seperate cable from the master to the other room from the ADSL side of the facplate, and then terminating that in the other room.

      If you get stuck give us a shout.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      cuna84's Avatar
      cuna84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Well I have already bought the extension cable as it were, Duronic 20m Professional Gold Headed Network Cable - Black - High Speed Premium Quality Cat6e / Patch / Ethernet / Modem / Router / LAN: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories. Regarding test socket I will have to assume that this is the one in the hallway since it is the only socket I have in the flat!

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Quote Originally Posted by cuna84 View Post
      Well I have already bought the extension cable as it were, Duronic 20m Professional Gold Headed Network Cable - Black - High Speed Premium Quality Cat6e / Patch / Ethernet / Modem / Router / LAN: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories. Regarding test socket I will have to assume that this is the one in the hallway since it is the only socket I have in the flat!
      If you only have the one socket, then that would be the master socket.

      The snag you are up against is the cable that you have bought, I don't think that would fit into the ADSL socket?

      You could put the router next to the master socket no issues, then run that cable from the router to your PC




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      cuna84's Avatar
      cuna84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Ah I see, will the cable I have bought not plug into the microfilter?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Its a Network cable which means it has RJ45 connectors, you need RJ11 connectors for the ADSL cable. Your best bet would be to place the router next to the master socket and run this cable from one of its ethernet ports to a switch in the other room. Switches a quite cheap. TP-Link 5-Port 10/100 Unmanaged Mini Desktop Switch (TL-SF1005D) Plastic Case: Mcab: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      cuna84's Avatar
      cuna84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      Oops, quite a bit error on my part, looks like if my plan to keep the router in the living room is to come to fruition then I need to send back the 20m cable I have bought and buy a 20m cable with RJ11 connectors instead? Or are there adapters you can buy?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet being turned on tomorrow, looking for advice as to best set up

      You can buy adapters to change the cable to RJ11. - RJ11 Male to RJ45 Female Converter

      If I were you and still wanted the router in the other room I would buy an ADSL extension kit.- NTE2000 ADSL Extension Kit, 30M I am pretty sure you could have one made up to the length you need with an RJ11 plug on one end.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION