Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By canonman

    Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

    This is a discussion on Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just bought a Sagem 54N router from Ebay, although it works fined wired to Pc and I get a slight ...

    1. #1
      canonman's Avatar
      canonman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newington
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      In my back room
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

      Just bought a Sagem 54N router from Ebay, although it works fined wired to Pc and I get a slight increase in the signal strength but not really enough. I've been reading Scubbie's tutorial on joining two routers, I currently have two homplugs for networking the Xbox and tv in sitting room via a TP-Link SG1005D which is non wireless which works fine.

      Can I use the old Sagem 54G router in my sitting room (no phone plugs there) as a hopefully wifi extender via the homeplug.

      My idea was to take the cable from the homeplug in sitting room into old Sagem 54G router, a second cable form Sagem into either Xbox /tv or TPLink router into xbox/tv.

      I'm not sure if Sagem 54G and 54n will cause a problem, I reckon I could save a lot of hassle asking first.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

      If the router is a WiFi g router, then the signal won't be hugely stronger, but it will provide a new WiFi connection point.

      Certainly using a pair of HomePlugs to connect it to your Sky router will be helpful and all should work well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

      You could simply replace the TP Link with the Sagem. It would give you 3 ethernet connections plus wireless. Probably better using the Sagem N as the slave if the signal from the main router is not very good in the sitting room.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      canonman's Avatar
      canonman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newington
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      In my back room
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

      Thanks for the info folks and Scubbie's tutorial, now got the 2nd router (54n) working in the sitting room via homeplugs, and a decent signal strength too according to the Inssider program. Tonight will be the test as it is usually between 9pm -10.30 pm when it is virtually impossible to get any wireless signal at all. Now I just need to tidy all the cables etc up to keep the missus happy :-)

      Cheers
      Scubbie likes this.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Joining Two Sagems, one 54N & 54G

      Tonight will be the test as it is usually between 9pm -10.30 pm when it is virtually impossible to get any wireless signal at all.
      That's when you should check the channels with Inssider. You might find a strong channel coming on which drowns yours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION