Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

    This is a discussion on Is ADSL2+ any use to me ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ​ Hello, I am coming to the end of my contract with BT and considering a move to Sky Unlimited ...

    1. #1
      speedy41's Avatar
      speedy41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Appley Bridge LCAPB
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 1
      Router: BT Homehub Version 2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Hello,

      I am coming to the end of my contract with BT and considering a move to Sky Unlimited when Sky LLU my local exchange in the next six months. My exchange is 21CN WBC upgraded and my line is able to accept an ADSL2+ connection. However, the consensus on the BT Community forum is that there will be no benefit in a change to ADSL2+. Just wondering what your view is - see router stats below taken from master socket with no extension cabling.

      Line state Connected
      Connection time 4 days, 19:36:38
      Downstream 2,528 Kbps
      Upstream 448 Kbps

      ADSL Settings

      VPI/VCI 0/38
      Type PPPoA
      Modulation G.992.1 Annex A
      Latency type Fast
      Noise margin (Down/Up) 5.2 dB / 18.0 dB
      Line attenuation (Down/Up) 58.1 dB / 31.5 dB
      Output power (Down/Up) 3.8 dBm / 1.4 dBm
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote) 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote) 0 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote) 0 / 0
      FEC Errors (Down/Up) 0 / 26
      CRC Errors (Down/Up) 8561 / 285
      HEC Errors (Down/Up) 9263 / 6
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote) 7596 / 184

      Please note that the latency type was changed from Interleave to Fastpath 5 days ago to try and improve speed - only 100 kbps increase achieved.

      Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      485
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Try the following calculator: ADSL/ADSL2+ line speed calculator

      It shows that you might get an increase if the noise margin is reduced to 3db, however moving to ADSL2+ often increases your line attenuation by a few db which would negate this.

    4. #3
      speedy41's Avatar
      speedy41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Appley Bridge LCAPB
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 1
      Router: BT Homehub Version 2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Thanks for your reply Mattan,

      It would seem that the likely increase of line attenuation and the reduction of noise SNR would render the connection too unstable and not jusify a change to ADSL2/2+.

      Many thanks anyway.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,893
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      I was typing up a nice long reply to your question but then took a look at the SamKnows page for your telephone exchange. Apparently Sky doesn't have their equipment in your area yet. This means that you would be stuck with Sky Broadband Connect.

      Essentially Connect is a re-badged BTW product and isn't generally recommended by members on this forum.

      SamKnows - Broadband Availability - Appley Bridge (LCAPB) Exchange

      Keep an eye open for when someone decides to install Fibre in your local area. This will hopefully improve things for you. Until then sadly it looks like you are on the best connection speed for know.

      You may wish to examine filtered faceplates and check out the wiring. This may improve things.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      speedy41's Avatar
      speedy41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Appley Bridge LCAPB
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 1
      Router: BT Homehub Version 2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Hello Scubbie

      Sky advise that the local exchange will be LLUed within the next six months and the query was to ascertain if Sky equipment with ADSL2+ connection would be of any use to me in improving download speeds. So an appraisal of the future situation is what I am after.

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,893
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Don't believe sales when they tell you that the LLU kit will be installed so soon.

      Sky are in the process of fitting more kit in various exchanges. They have stated that they have a target to achieve by June/July 2013 to reach 85% of the UK Population. However which specific exchanges will be upgraded is kept as a company secret.

      Your telephone line is very long. I would strongly recommend that you look at ways to improve the connection as this will help you more, even on ADSL.

      Take a look at this page, but don't do the 'ring-wire' piece, instead install the VDSL filtered faceplate:

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      BT/Openreach VDSL/ADSL Premium Faceplate - VDSL I Plate

      To be perfectly fair though, your best bet would be to encourage the local council to try and get Fibre installed sooner.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      speedy41's Avatar
      speedy41 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Appley Bridge LCAPB
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 1
      Router: BT Homehub Version 2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is ADSL2+ any use to me ?

      Thanks for all the advice. I think I will leave it there, unfortunately.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION