Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Wireless connection - WEP, no WPA - Resolved

    This is a discussion on Wireless connection - WEP, no WPA - Resolved within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, Wireless and wired works fine on my computer, but housemates laptop is having problems. It's running Win2000 and ...

    1. #1
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless connection - WEP, no WPA - Resolved

      Hi guys,

      Wireless and wired works fine on my computer, but housemates laptop is having problems.

      It's running Win2000 and using a belkin wireless card that only does 802.11b. It can see the router and has excellent signal strength etc, but can't connect.

      I can't find anywhere to enter the WPA code. All the belkin software shows up is WEP stuff. Can't find anything in Win2000 that throws up stuff about WPA, or even conects me to a wireless network.

      There's no network card in the laptop, so can't just plug in a cable.

      It's a newbie problem I know, but it's got me stumped


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      whats the model of the wireless adapter, I dont know if 11b does WPA?

      Anyone else confirm this

    4. #3
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Ratti3 View Post
      whats the model of the wireless adapter
      It's a Belkin 2.4Ghz DSSS PCMCIA Card IEEE 802.11b / 11Mbps model no. F5D6020 ver.2 and it seems you're right that it doesn't support WPA. Unless version 2 added support or I can update the firmware the question now becomes:

      Can the router use WEP rather than WPA?

    5. #4
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by mark_21 View Post
      Can the router use WEP rather than WPA?
      More semi-random tapping of keys shows an option of using WEP when I go to 192.168.0.1. I've set this up on both computers and this desktop computer can access the internet ok. The laptop claims to be connected to the network (hooray) but can't do anything with it. No internet, and nothing when I direct the browser at the router's IP address above.

      I'm stumped again.

    6. #5
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      did you change to wep then 128bit encryption enter some random text and hit generate, note down the key and disconect the wireless then refresh network list and rejoin.

      if it still has issues after claiming to be connected goto network connections in control panel and disable it then reneable it.

      if you still have issues let us know.

    7. #6
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have changed my router to WEP for exactly the same reason as above and now it works fine.

    8. #7
      Stephen Kirrage's Avatar
      Stephen Kirrage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woking
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had this same issue and was walked through the fix by tech support (!). Pretty straightforward and it works fine.

    9. #8
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Works!

      Once I'd switched everything over to WEP all that was missing was rebooting the router. Did that and it all started working

      Thanks for the help.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      marked this one as resolved




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION