Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22
    Like Tree3Likes

    Router

    This is a discussion on Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok thanks will help alot, do a make a new topic to how to do it etc? and also Scubbie ...

    1. #11
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      Ok thanks will help alot, do a make a new topic to how to do it etc? and also Scubbie and Isitme heres a better picture .. http://i49.tinypic.com/2mr7k7o.png


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router

      Do it in this thread and then we can promote to article once sorted.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      im doing a write up atm i will post sometime later tonight or tomorrow
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    5. #14
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      I dont know if needs editing or changing....

      *HOW TO SET UP ECHOLIFE HG621 FTTC MODEM FOR ADSL CONNECTION FOR SKY BB*

      First of you will need the HG612 FTTC Modem, I brought mine off eBay, brand new for 30 off eBay brand new with next day delivery,

      Once you have got it, You will need to firmware unlock it so you can connect it to your ADSL service, the file can be found here http://csdprojects.co.uk/HG612/bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10unl ocked002, Once you have downloaded it you will need to follow these steps http://huaweihg612hacking.files.word...tions_v1-3.pdf.

      Once that is done your ready to set it up to work on ADSL.

      Step one: Login to the HG612 by going to http://192.168.1.1 with the username admin and password admin,

      Step two: Once you have logged in click on the Basic tab on the left then click on DSL, Make sure you tick ONLY ADSL2+, It should look like this http://i48.tinypic.com/160a24y.png once you have done that click Submit,

      Step three: Next click on ATM, You will need to add VPI/VCI in the first box put 0 then 38 in the next, Leave DSL latency as Path0, DSL link type select PPPoA, Encapsulation mode select VCMUX, Service type put UBR Without PCR, It should look like this http://i45.tinypic.com/21mb153.png, once you have done that then click Submit,

      Step four: Next click on PTM make sure DSL latency is set to Path0 and PTM priority set to Normal Priority, it should look like this http://i47.tinypic.com/18kciw.png then click Submit.

      Step five: Next click on WAN, make sure Layer2 interface is selected as atm1/(0_0_38), WAN connection is ticked as enabled, Service List selected as INTERNET, Port blinding selected as LAN1, NAT ticked as enabled, Username you will need to extract your username and password from your sky router by using Sky router password generator once you done that in put the data it gives you and put in username and password, Authentication mode select Auto. Dialling method select auto too then it should look like http://i49.tinypic.com/del2wz.png click Submit,

      Step six Next click on LAN, LAN Host Settings can be any IP address mine is set to 192.168.1.1, and subnet is 255.255.255.0, Next Enable DHCP Server, Start IP address is 192.168.1.2 and end IP address is 192.168.1.254, you can put any here to suit your needs, lease duration I put 31 days, or put what suits you better, device type I’ve set to STB, Start IP is 192.168.1.2 and end IP is 192.168.1.254, primary DNS is 8.8.4.4 and secondary is 8.8.8.8, it should look like http://i47.tinypic.com/ehyel3.png then click Submit.

      Step seven: Routing i've not changed any settings, Firewall i’ve disabled mine as i'm using my NetGear firewall instead, it’s up to you if you want to keep it on or off,
      NAT settings I have left alone as well, IGMP setting I have left alone too, QoS I have disabled, As there is one on NetGear, SNTP I have left alone too, CWMP i’ve left alone too, UPNP i’ve left as disabled too, LED is left as Enabled
      http://i49.tinypic.com/ndk2t2.png

      Step eight: I’ve changes the admin password, Only if you want too/need too
      Last edited by St3althM4ster; 13-10-12 at 07:35 PM.
      NewsreadeR and nw1456 like this.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to St3althM4ster For This Useful Post:

      nw1456 (14-10-12)

    7. #15
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      "May" have to keep eye on it already had 2 resync with little speed loss

    8. #16
      nw1456's Avatar
      nw1456 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router

      That's a nice tutorial you have there, it could be quite helpful for other people, well done.

    9. #17
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      Thanks, I guess over time some settings "may" need to change, Only downside to the HG612 the uptime counter is weird, it dont say it in days/hour/min/sec, only like a number like 12345 (example) would be better if it had day/hour/min/sec on it IMO.

    10. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router

      The uptime will probably be in minutes. Should not be difficult to work out if you take a set of stats 1 hour apart and note the difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #19
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      Ahh my bad its in seconds well that kinda sucks lol

    12. #20
      St3althM4ster's Avatar
      St3althM4ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Unlocked HG612 with WRN2000v2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router

      Just to update 24 hours it been sync with out dropping out or resyncing will post again in a week time to see if its still stable.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION