Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Wireless connecting two routers

    This is a discussion on Wireless connecting two routers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good evening all, I have a Sagecom F@ST2504n router and a Netgear DG834GT which I have flashed with Netgear firmware ...

    1. #1
      padders01's Avatar
      padders01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless connecting two routers

      Good evening all,

      I have a Sagecom F@ST2504n router and a Netgear DG834GT which I have flashed with Netgear firmware

      The question is can I make the two routers talk to each other wireless.

      Basically I have the internet cable in the front of the house and I want to connect my Sky HD Box in the living room to the internet using the two routers instead of wires all round the house

      I know about homeplugs, I would just prefer to use the routers I have as no extra cost

      Can this be done??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      Of the two routers you have listed, only the DG834GT supports this ability, whilst using WiFi g or no WiFi encryption.

      You could purchase a WiFi Extender, which is designed for this specific task.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      I also wanted to do this a while back and found its unlikely that it can be done , even if you have two Netgears (DG834GT) I think (emphasis on the word 'think') that it only repeats the wireless signal - it may not share the signal over LAN on the repeater unit (so was discussed on kitz anyway) - I would like to know if it IS possible as I now have 2 Netgears but no longer need the functionality because I got homeplugs in the end, would simply like to know for future reference.
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      It should be possible to link the two DG834GTs together via WiFi. To the best of my knowledge you should also be able to access everything else connected, unless Wireless Isolation has been enabled.

      Due to licensing agreements, with the Netgear firmware you can only link them together using WiFi g specifications or you can disable the security altogether and run them at full speed. WiFi Extenders don't have this restriction.

      If you were to use a non-Netgear firmware, you should be able to support WPA2-AES encryption at full speed.

      From a performance perspective I would advise against connecting two devices in this manner. Even if you were linking the two at full speed, the actual throughput would be considerably reduced due to the traffic demanding signal space. With the Sky Hub I have maxed out the speed at ~80mb/s for actual throughput. This would reduce to below 40mb/s if I were connected to a WiFi Extender.

      Sure you can browse the Internet and stream some video content, but if you start sharing the 2nd connection with someone else or have a neighbour using one of the same channels, then things will start to suffer a little.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      thanks scubbie..

      I heard the throughput halves..something to do with it being transmitted twice (or something like that anyway) - I wonder if you could link the two together via wireless (but as a link between them only and other devices not connecting to the wifi signal) and that the second router can output the broadband connection via LAN..??

      BROADBAND IN/OUT VIA LAN - - ROUTER1 - - WIFI SIGNAL (routers only) - - ROUTER2 - - BROADBAND IN/OUT VIA LAN

      the theory here is that if the wireless routers are communicating with each other only and dont allow other devices to connect via wifi would this conserve the bandwidth? (just like router-to-laptop) - one could have that signal on one channel (e.g. 1) and another 3rd router connected to the 1st in piggy-back mode broadcasting a different wifi network on channel 11... is that possible?

      all just speculation and theory...lol
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      Theoretically it should work. Since I don't have a suitable pair of routers to test with, I can't verify it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      hmm.. I do but dont know if I have the time or patience to try it... I have a DG834N and DG834GT - DGteam firmware for these devices gives advanced wireless options..I dunno if the repeater options available in stock firmware is it?

      I might try it one day, I would have to get my GT back from my dad first.
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    9. #8
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      I would just get the Sky wireless connector and save yourself the headache. They're only 10 quid now.

    10. #9
      VisioN's Avatar
      VisioN is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      It's horrendously difficult to hook up two routers to the same network due to the fact they're designed to broadcast network signals, not repeat them. If you want to boost your signal, get a repeater. Or if you're simply looking to hook up your Sky box to the internet as buddbuttocks said the Anytime+ Wireless Adapters are on offer at the moment, down from 60 to 10.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Wireless connecting two routers

      With the price change I would certainly agree that the WiFi adaptor sounds a good VFM choice now.

      If you intend to connect other devices at a later date to share the connection though, the Sky WiFi adaptor may not be the best option. Also if you would like an extra WiFi access point, then using the 2nd router is also a good option.

      The OP has only asked if it can be done (i.e. link the DG834GT to the 2504N) as he already has both and the extra costs are just his time, not money.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION