Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

    This is a discussion on Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is anyone else having really slow pings in the Medway area. The service page doesn't list any problems but there ...

    1. #1
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Is anyone else having really slow pings in the Medway area. The service page doesn't list any problems but there clearly is:


      Usually my connection is really good but over the last week its been dire... Normally I get:



      Anyone shed some light on it as its driving me mental!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Possibly your line has developed a fault. Post your stats from your normal position and from the Test socket, using only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky.
      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Can you also confirm if this happens all the time or just at peak times?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Hi

      At the moment it seems to mainly be peak times but woke up this morning and have over 600+ ping...


      I've checked by stats but to be honest not sure really what I'm looking at. Also checked my phone line, there is no noise on it at all nice and quiet so doesn't seem to be that.

      The d/l speed seems fine its just the ping is so high!

      before>>Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area-screen-shot-2012-10-06-09.01.24.jpg
      then after a reboot>>Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area-screen-shot-2012-10-06-09.24.15.jpg

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      On the face of it, it looks like your line has been capped, as your noise margin is high after a reboot. However the fact that your WAN/LAN uptimes did not go back to zero means the reboot was not successful. Can you try power cycling your router by switching the power off for a minute, then on again, then repost your stats

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Hi
      Thanks for coming back to me. I power cycled the router as you said and these were the results straight away:
      Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area-screen-shot-2012-10-06-11.26.49.jpg
      After about 5 minutes they were still the same.

      Speedtest after the reboot:


      If they capped my line, wouldn't that affect the speed rather than the ping?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      If they capped my line, wouldn't that affect the speed rather than the ping?
      Yes, but if the line is capped lower than necessary it indicates there is a fault with it, which could effect the ping time. It looks like you are capped to 14336, which is really quite a low speed for your attenuation. With the new DLM training available now 17-18mbps should not be out of reach.

      Can you plug into your Test socket, using only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky. Your speed will not increase but you are looking for a substantial increase in the noise margin. If it does, this is easily fixed as it indicates a problem in you internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Can you plug into your Test socket, using only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky. Your speed will not increase but you are looking for a substantial increase in the noise margin. If it does, this is easily fixed as it indicates a problem in you internal wiring.
      Unfortunately I live in a set of apartments so we don't have any test sockets. Only a master socket which I am plugged into already.

      I just did a tracert and there seems to be some issues:

      Traceroute has started…


      traceroute to bbc.co.uk (212.58.241.131), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
      1 skyrouter.home (192.168.0.1) 0.837 ms 0.634 ms 0.586 ms
      2 * * *
      3 ip-84-38-37-202.easynet.co.uk (84.38.37.202) 3555.460 ms 879.180 ms 87.956 ms
      4 te0-1-0-0.er11.thlon.ov.easynet.net (89.200.135.97) 47.079 ms 58.336 ms 33.724 ms
      5 ntl-ge2-9.prt0.rbsov.bbc.co.uk (212.58.238.189) 37.048 ms 52.029 ms 32.184 ms
      6 * * *
      7 ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk (132.185.254.46) 435.198 ms 461.685 ms 472.753 ms
      8 132.185.255.60 (132.185.255.60) 468.004 ms 499.649 ms 503.923 ms
      9 bbc.co.uk (212.58.241.131) 515.997 ms 524.041 ms 55.810 ms

    9. #8
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      Also just checked my sky details which shows they've capped it by the looks of it to 14.3Mbps:


      Your Connection Details

      We constantly monitor your line to make sure it has been set to support the fastest speed possible whilst maintaining a stable connection.

      Line connection testing completed on 23/06/2012, resulting in the following settings:

      Download speed setting
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to 14.3Mbps .

      Upload speed setting
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to 1.3Mbps .


    10. #9
      theeye52's Avatar
      theeye52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Medway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      This fault definitely is intermittent because I've just run another test and got a ping of 31ms, yet 5 mins ago it was 400+

      Would this indicate that its at the exchange end rather than my end?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow connection and 400ms+ Ping in Medway Exchange Area

      I would definitely say it was a fault on your line or a problem at the exchange. Flats very often cause poor broadband performance which may account for your lower sync speed, but that should not effect the actual throughput or ping. I think all you can do is call Sky and make them aware of the problem. Just because your exchange is not on the 'problems' list does not mean it is not having problems. It may not have been reported by enough users to raise a warning flag. You did check on this site Sky Help and Support | Service Status and not the ordinary status page?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION