Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39

    Make sure you tell your old ISP you have left!

    This is a discussion on Make sure you tell your old ISP you have left! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I got a 'nice' letter from my old ISP today saying there is a problem with my account and I ...

    1. #31
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
      I got a 'nice' letter from my old ISP today saying there is a problem with my account and I could own them money, that is all well and good but not only did I migrate from them to Sky I also made sure is was closed afterwards. After getting through to the Indian call centre I was told to disregard the letter.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      tripodjw's Avatar
      tripodjw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beeston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottingham, UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well I confirmed with my old ISP a couple of days after i migrated (early September). DIdn't think anything of being billed on 1 October as i know they bill in arrears. But finding they billed me on 1 november i'm pretty hacked off.

      A call to Tiscali has said they think they are still providing me with BB. But will be willing to consider closing the account andmaybe giving a refund if i can prove i'm getting BB from someone else.

      SKY say they are providing me with BB, which i believe as my old router can't log in to tiscali account and i can get into Sky BB - plus the speeds are about 4-5 time higher than i was paying tiscali for. Sky are providing a duplicate of my activation letter for me to send to Tiscali as proof of my new service.

      BT wholesale have confirmed on the phone there is a sky LLU on the line. But they can't provide written proof for me to provide tiscali. They recommended logging a complaint with ofcom (0845 456 3000).

      Ofcom took my complaint and suggested there was nothing more i could do than try to provide proof to tiscali. The guy was very nice and helpful - and sympathetic. He thought it was appalling and the best he could do was wish me luck.

      Sigh.

      But of course everyone is charging me.

    4. #33
      Sennockian's Avatar
      Sennockian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      There are things they dont know, things they know they don't know and ....

      Don't rely on Sky to do anything. As a whole they lack any moral fibre and are happy to chat for hours on their 0870 lines knowing full well that whatever they say will never come back to haunt them. If you are currently using an ISP that works don't leave it. That way you'll never have billing problems nor have to be treated like an illiterate tramp by agents that have not been alive as long as I've been a Sky customer.

    5. #34
      JAMES4578's Avatar
      JAMES4578 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HALFWAY
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      GLASGOW
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      James4578

      I am having same problem with being billed by Tiscali when I was migrated to sky 24th August. Knew I was charged in arrears but when billed for October contacted Tiscali ,claimed Sky hadn't informed them and still showed account as active. They said there would be an investiagation which would take 7 days and I would receive a letter. However, that was about 3 weeks now and though I e mailed, all I was told was to phone again. (had e mailed as last time had to use mobile and was kept waiting for about 15 minutes. Cancellation line only does office hours and the other lines don't seem to be able to do anything. Have now been billed for

      I was wondering whether it would be advisable to contact sky before trying tiscali again.

      James

    6. #35
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi James

      Its not really Sky's responsibility to inform the losing ISP, normally BT would tell the losing ISP.

      This is the point of this thread, once you change ISP's make sure you:

      1) Cancel the old D/D

      2) Email / telephone your old ISP to confirm

      3) Ask for a refund on any unused period you may have paid for

      I would ring them during office hours and tell them in no uncertain terms you have cancelled.

      If they ever take you to court, you would win. Just make sure you keep all the information available.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #36
      hgaule's Avatar
      hgaule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Guys I'm having a similar problem. My connection migration was delayed (sky said I was migrated on my activation date but I was still using my old connection) After a month to support my connection is now working on sky but I've just checked with my old ISP and they have said BT have confirmed I am still using their old connection which now I'm ovbiously not. If I just cancel my old connection with them will this affect my sky's connection in any way?

    8. #37
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I spotted somewhere in the posts here someone said that when he asked for his MAC code, that was a notification of cancelling his account with his old isp?
      I`m migrating from Orange ( originally freeserve ) and am on sky just now and found my Orange internet inaccessible as of 2 days ago although i`ve had no notification from Sky yet saying i`m 'live'.
      With regards to my MAC code i recieved from Orange, i was specifically told in e-mail i was only requesting a MAC code and if i did nothing i would still have an Orange account so later today when the BT tracker site tells me my bt ipstream home 500 account has been ceased, i`ll be calling Orange to make sure i am no longer billed from them.
      ( basically asking for a MAC isnt the same as cancelling your isp account )
      a bit long winded i know, lol but hope it's ok

    9. #38
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      ( basically asking for a MAC isnt the same as cancelling your isp account )
      Some ISP's it is some not.

      With F2S if you do not migrate within the 30 days of receiving your MAC your contract continues. However if you do use it within 30 days, the start of your 30 day notice begins the day you get the MAC.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 20-12-06 at 05:11 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #39
      hgaule's Avatar
      hgaule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I gave sky my MAC from f2s they day I received it. But because of it being messed up and taking longer than 30days to migrate F2S don't think i've left.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION