Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26
    Like Tree2Likes

    How to connect your CCTV system to your router

    This is a discussion on How to connect your CCTV system to your router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Now it does the same when I type the (what I am quite sure is the correct address) into the ...

    1. #21
      Terra999's Avatar
      Terra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Now it does the same when I type the (what I am quite sure is the correct address) into the address bar as it does through ipolis, that being it going to the settings of the sky hub so it must have something to do with that; it's got to be. Surely?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      2,993
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 321 Times in 312 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Are you able to connect to your camera from within your local network using its local IP address?

      If it starts with 192.168 there is no harm in posting exactly what you are putting in your address bar as it will not be accessible to anyone outside your local network.
      Last edited by seawright; 06-10-16 at 12:01 AM. Reason: Added second paragraph

    4. #23
      Terra999's Avatar
      Terra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      192.168.0.2 is my local IP and I have no idea how to connect through the local IP unless it's typing in the address bar as I tried that and it just says the site can't be reached.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Having the DVR connected to my hub is taking up a lot of bandwidth too.

    5. #24
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      2,993
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 321 Times in 312 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Different DVRs will use different ports. Can you check your DVRs network settings menu to see which port it uses as its mobile monitor port? If your browser has a plugin to display the video try viewing locally using http://192.168.0.2:xxxx/ (replacing xxxx with monitor port number). If there isn't a suitable plugin installed you could try using mplayer.

    6. #25
      Terra999's Avatar
      Terra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      How do I know which is the mobile monitor port? Iv'e tried all the numbers I can see on the DVR port page and it always says it can't be reached or last night it was going to the sky settings page!

      I am getting a CD drive for my new laptop as my old one with a drive is slow af and can't even install it so will take a look at the disc as the samsung website suggests doing that as it looks like it has a set up wizzard on there but whether it will sort it only time will tell but thanks for the help anyway.

      I will update if it works.

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,943
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,632 Times in 1,593 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      I know this tread is old but can anyone tell me why when I try to view through my DDNS (ipolis) it just goes to the sky router settings
      Are you trying to access through the Sky router? If so you may find it does not work. With many Sky routers* you cannot use a DDNS address to access the DVR, you must use an external network, such as the 3/4g on your phone.

      * I can access my DVR using my DDNS address, but I have the SR102. I don't know if the SR101 allows this, I know none of the previous Sky routers did so. I use one of the Meyech apps to gain access to my DVR. I have been using Asee+( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...Seev2&hl=en_GB) but the latest update to the app has stopped it working on my Tab. At the moment I am using this one https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...Super&hl=en_GB

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION