Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26
    Like Tree2Likes

    How to connect your CCTV system to your router

    This is a discussion on How to connect your CCTV system to your router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When you put the address in the address bar make sure you don't put in www. Safari seems this automatically ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,075
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,638 Times in 1,599 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      When you put the address in the address bar make sure you don't put in www. Safari seems this automatically if you just put the address. Type in http://192.168.0.<number of your DVR> there should be no need for the port, which is only required when you are access from outwith your LAN. You should be asked for the password.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      HA54SYM's Avatar
      HA54SYM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Quote Originally Posted by 1540phil View Post
      On the settings within the iPad app,

      name: "bobs CCTV" (it doesn't matter what name you give it)
      Address: the permanent IP address of your dvr (not router or DNS)
      Port: mobile port (for mine as described in the how to this is 8100)
      user: the username you set up the dvr with
      password: password
      chanels: the number of cameras you have.

      With it set up like that for your iPad on your home wifi it should work ok.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Can you do a screen shot of the iPad app settings?
      Thats exactly how I have it set up????

      Only thing I think is odd, is when I look at the UPnP Portmap table, it has a different port for DVR3, which is an old one I put in by error (8001).

      However on the Firewall Rules and Services pages DVR3 has a different port number (currently the Swann 18004) one.

      If I change the service / port on the firewall it does not update correctly on the UPnP, still says 8001???

      I have re-booted the Router etc etc.

      Could this be the issue?

      Dave

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,075
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,638 Times in 1,599 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      If you are accessing the DVR from within your own network, the firewall settings are irrelevant as you are on the LAN side of the firewall. The firewall only comes into play if you are trying to access from a remote location outside your network, such as by a 3g connection.

      The incorrect port number may have an effect if you are trying to access from outside your network so it may be better if you reset the router to default and start again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      portlanders's Avatar
      portlanders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Bravo to 1540phil for taking the time to post this, much appreciated mate as I've just followed it on my dvr / router and it worked a charm and can now view my cams on my mobile on an external network.
      However......... Now I can't connect over my internal Lan connection
      Putting the DVR's ip address in IE brings up the DVR's landing page, but when I go to input the password and press login, it holds and then comes back with the error message 'Cann't find the device'.
      I even tried putting in an incorrect password, but same response Is given.
      I was able to view the dvr on my internal Lan connection prior to the changes I made to port numbers, etc. So not sure if the problem lies there or In the router settings?
      Just seems weird I can see the landing page.

      Any idea's anyone?

      Thanks
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How to connect your CCTV system to your router-landing-error.jpg   How to connect your CCTV system to your router-landing.jpg  

    6. #15
      portlanders's Avatar
      portlanders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Scrub my post above, it all seem to be working fine now. Didn't changed anything, just checked router setting and rebooted the laptop.
      So all good thanks again

    7. #16
      briancparsons's Avatar
      briancparsons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thetford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      [QUOTE=1540phil;389985]Hello, I will start by saying this is not a definitive guide and will not work for everyone. I have created this thread as a thank you to those on this forum that have helped me succeed, and a 'how to' for those about to start out.

      I bought a Swann DVR4-1300 which I bought off the shelf as a CCTV system that is easy to install. And you can view your cameras on a smart phone app. All credit to swann for the first part, the cameras and the DVR was easy to install.
      HOWEVER you cannot just download the smartphone app and watch your cameras!

      ______________________________

      So here is how I did it:

      Firstly install your cameras, hook them up to your DVR, run through the instructions to set up the system as it stands unconnected to your router. You have a choice of
      A) placing your DVR near your router (but bear in mind if you are burgled and your electrical items are stolen, your DVR is likely to be stolen too!)
      B) stashing your router in a hidden location and running a long Ethernet cable. This the option I chose and is easy to sort out.

      Worthy of noting is that you can control your DVR remotely from devices connected through your router so there is no real need to access your DVR with its remote control after its all been installed.

      ______________________________________

      RIGHT now the bit that had me foxed for a while as there is little information in the instructions.

      YOU MUST CREATE A Dynamic DNS!
      this is an address that acts as an IP address, but never changes. The host service you choose keep updating your DNS with your ever changing IP address.

      Again you have a choice, there are free versions out there but these need to be updated manually by you ever 30 days. I opted for the second option which was to purchase 12 months service with dyndns.com. I chose the dyndns pro that cost about £12 for the year.
      REMEMBER the login and password you create for this site as you will need this later.
      Go through the very simple instructions on their website to set up a host name. It links to your current IP and bobs your uncle. Download their DNA updater on your computer and choose this to run in the background. This way it updates your IP address to your DNS host name everything you log on your computer.

      ________________________________________

      RIGHT, now that's set up we'll move on to the set up of the system.
      THE DVR.

      Go onto the dvr setup screen and move to the menu, then network setup
      Now I tried leaving the settings as standard, but for some reason it just didn't work. I assume there was some conflict with the ports set as default. Changed to those below it just works.
      change the settings to those described below

      Network setup
      IP type, static
      upnp, enable
      mobile port, 8100
      media port, 8000
      web port, 00085
      (I tried the default port numbers over and over again so on the advice of other users of this forum I tried the above port numbers which worked straight away! So whilst I'm not saying you must use these port numbers, it worked for me.)
      ip address, 192.168.0.5 (this the the ip address you create for the dvr)
      Netmask, 255.255.255.000
      gateway, 192.168.0.1 (this is the ip address for my sky router)
      Dns1, 000.000.000.000
      dns2, 000.000.000.000

      Now move onto the DNS setup screen
      change the settings to those below

      Dns setup
      ddns, enable
      server, dyndns
      host name, (the host name You have created)
      Username, the dyndns website username
      password, the dyndns website password

      Run a DNS test and all should work fine, it should come back with a message test successful.

      THAT IS ALL YOU NEED TO DO TO YOUR DVR

      ______________________________________________

      Now you must change the settings of your sky router

      Type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar of a computer connected to your router (wired or wirelessly). This will open up a window asking for a user and password. User is admin, password is sky. This takes you to the setup screen of your router.

      Firstly click on the SECURITY tab, then SERVICES tab.
      here you need to create 3 services
      DVR1 TCP/UDP port 85
      DVR2 TCP/UDP port 8000
      DVR3 TCP/UDP port 8100

      Then click onto the FIREWALL RULES.
      here you need to add the 3 services you have just created.
      In the inbound services section, click add.
      find the port name and number you have created for DVR1 and add.
      Select always allow
      Put the IP address for your DVR (the one you created on the DVR setup)
      WAN users - all
      log - always
      do that for all 3 services you created DVR1, DVR2, DVR3

      NOW click on the ADVANCED tab.
      then UPNP
      tick enable UPNP.

      NOW click on DYNAMIC DNS
      Add all the settings for your dns host name (the bit you created with DYNDNS (or whoever you choose)
      Remember the username is the one you use to log on to the DNS website with. (you will have chosen this login when you registered with the DYN provider.)

      If you have succeeded by this point then your settings should look something like this.

      Sky router settings
      Upnp settings onActive
      Active Protocol Int. Port Ext. Port IP Address
      Active TCP 85 85 192.168.0.5
      Active TCP 8000 8000 192.168.0.5
      Active TCP 8100 8100 192.168.0.5


      Firewall settings
      # Enable Service Name Action LAN Users WAN Servers Log
      Default Yes Any ALLOW always Any Any Never


      # Enable Service Name Action LAN Server IP address WAN Users Log
      1 DVR1 Allow always 192.168.0.5(85:85) 0.0.0.0 (1:65535) Always
      2 DVR2 Allow always 192.168.0.5(8000:8000) 0.0.0.0 (1:65535) Always
      3 DVR3 Allow always 192.168.0.5(8100:8100) 0.0.0.0 (1:65535) Always
      Default Yes Any BLOCK always Any Any Never
      Finally _Click ADVANCED, LAN IP setup and reserve the IP address for your DVR. This will ensure it receives the same IP address even after a power down of the system. (thanks Isitme)

      ______________________________________________


      From here on all should be good.

      Install the DVR software disc onto your laptop and it should connect wirelessly and work fine. On the setup for the program.
      The IP address is the IP address for your DVR
      the port is media port 8000
      the username is the one you set for the DVR on setup
      the password is the one you set for the DVR on setup.
      The connection type is LAN

      _______________________________________________

      Download any apps you need. iPhone, iPad, android.

      On the setup screens for these make sure, if connecting your
      iPad over the wifi
      the IP is the one you have used for your DVR (not the router)
      The port you need is the mobile port 8100
      the username is the one you set for the DVR on setup
      the password is the one you set for the DVR on setup.

      On the setup screen for your
      phone app.
      The IP address is your DNS host name
      the port is the mobile port 8100
      the username is the one you set for the DVR on setup
      the password is the one you set for the DVR on setup.
      FOR THIS APP TO WORK ON IPHONE OR ANDROID YOU MUST NOT USE WIFI ON YOUR PHONE. This conflicts and will not work. Just use 3G.

      Thats how I did it after a week of mistakes, staying up late at night kicking things, reading all about Dynamic DNS and port forwarding, and with loads of help from people on this forum.

      Seen as I couldn't find a 'HOW TO' for setting up your CCTV system, here is how I did it.

      Best of luck and don't give up. There is a way around everything.

      Hi Phil,
      followed your complete instructions on install of DVR to no avail, UPNP on router refuses to display any entries.
      Any help would be appreciated...

      - - - Updated - - -

      Hi,
      followed complete instructions on install of DVR to no avail, UPNP on router refuses to display any entries.
      Any help would be appreciated...

    8. #17
      detectors's Avatar
      detectors is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 799680
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Thank you for your useful information
      Last edited by Saturday; 16-10-14 at 04:34 PM. Reason: Deleted image link

    9. #18
      Terra999's Avatar
      Terra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      Hi,

      I know this tread is old but can anyone tell me why when I try to view through my DDNS (ipolis) it just goes to the sky router settings page (i.e the IP address) and although I have had a go at changing all sorts of settings, it always goes to the sky settings. What else can I do?

      Any help appreciated.

    10. #19
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,088
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 327 Times in 318 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      What external port number are you using?
      You need to include the port number in the URL when connecting to your CCTV from the Internet.
      eg. If the external port number is 8000 the URL must start http://ddnsname:8000/

    11. #20
      Terra999's Avatar
      Terra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect your CCTV system to your router

      When I type it into the address bar like that it says IP not registered. Please register device.

      I register it on ipolis and when you have done that there is a tab for you to press to view the camera but it just goes to the sky hub settings. I have now registered again with the 8000 after my username/ddnsname or product id as it is named on ipolis and it says that its status is off but IS on when I just put the username but again when I press the tab to see live feed it just goes to the sky hub settings.

      According to the instructions when I press the view tab it should ask me to install the active-x plug-in and then just type my username and password etc and everything should work fine but it doesn't and always goes to the settings even after I have followed all the info on this thread.

      Believe it or not I do not have a cd reader as these new laptops have done away with them so have not installed a driver on my laptop but by the way it looks, I didn't expect I would need to as the website looks like it provides all the tools and it is just the hub that is stopping the access but I am out of ideas for today.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION