Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

    This is a discussion on WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I have been having a month of congestion during peak times on the Motherwell exchange. Sky customer services have ...

    1. #1
      arb999uk's Avatar
      arb999uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSMOT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Hello,

      I have been having a month of congestion during peak times on the Motherwell exchange. Sky customer services have been useless and basically conceded that it must be congestion at the exchange. Hopefully there are others who can empathise with me when I see Motherwell ISN'T on the list of problem exchanges.

      I will continue on my quest to get Sky to confirm my suspicions...

      Cheers

      ARB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sarge's Avatar
      sarge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wsmot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Exactly the same thing for me. It's perfect during the day, then come 8pm it grinds to a halt. Spent an hour on the phone to sky tonight as its totally unusable now. Not even loading BBC.co.UK. ping is responding sometimes to BBC.co.UK and even then giving 3000+ ms.
      Have now done all the line tests and swapping filters etc. With no improvement, just waiting on solutions team phoning me.
      I can ping the router and gateway/exchange fine, but any further and get timeouts etc.
      Have resorted to my phone as the broadband is useless.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Have you checked on here?

      Sky Help and Support | Service Status




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      HSH85's Avatar
      HSH85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Yep I've been having the same issues too at Motherwell Exchange. Daytime is sound but at peak times it's a right pain. Been having this problem for just over 2 weeks and today is was so bad I had to phone up.

      Anyways, I'm glad I saw this thread; it's been well over 3-4 years since I logged in here. Good thing I remembered my password. ^ ^

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Good thing I remembered my password. ^ ^
      Good thing we never purge the inactive members.

      Hope you guys get this sorted out.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      arb999uk's Avatar
      arb999uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSMOT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Good thing we never purge the inactive members.



      Hope you guys get this sorted out.
      Hey, just a quick update. I spoke to someone from the Broadband Service Desk. They suggested plugging it into the Test Scoket in my BT Box, yes, got an extra meg to download with, however STILL having issues in evening. He said to call back and he would escalate.

      I will post more of an update when I am back home (currently on a train from Peterborough)

      Cheers

    8. #7
      HSH85's Avatar
      HSH85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WSMOT (Motherwell) Exchange Congestion

      Oh my god it's so bad right now. Just barely logged into let alone into this site. I phoned sky yesterday to complain again about the grinding slow speeds during peak hours for the past 2+ weeks. They said they probably found out why I'm experiencing this issue and betting on a "through-though" error. Not sure if I heard it correctly. Nonetheless they said they'll phone back within 48 / 72 hours to give me an update.
      I went through all different procedures to rule out any possibility on my own. I tested by directly connecting through the test socket; switching filters, checking both wireless and cabled, and using an older router I had laying around. It's all the same really.
      The router claims I should be receiving the speed that is shown, but something is acting up between my router and pc.
      Trace route to bbc.co.uk shows in 4 digits; netstat only shows 2 line; before hand there were none (I was told to do this whilst talking to sky support on the phone, he sounded perplexed by my result).
      Don't know what's going on

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION