Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

    This is a discussion on AC/DC connection cause of high pings? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have noticed that on the back of my DG934G Netgear router that the part where the power cable plugs ...

    1. #1
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Question AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      I have noticed that on the back of my DG934G Netgear router that the part where the power cable plugs in is wobbling about when I move the cable.
      Would this perhaps be the cause of my high pings but normal download speed (sometimes). I have noticed that my router also no longer detects ethernet cables.

      I am already planning on calling Sky tomorrow to ask for a replacement. I would just like to ask the forum if high pings can be caused by this?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      mostly likely high pings if router at fault does the power go off/on when moved? if ports dead then will need replacement router , but check what your stats are like, maybe router fault but also could be line issues of course dlm may have set your line poorly if router causing issue

    4. #3
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      mostly likely high pings if router at fault does the power go off/on when moved? if ports dead then will need replacement router , but check what your stats are like, maybe router fault but also could be line issues of course dlm may have set your line poorly if router causing issue
      Checked my stats, everything is fine... :/ The lights dim and flicker when I "wiggle" the power cable. Oddly enough the ethernet ports ONLY died when I moved the router (guess I moved the power cable and it short circuited the ports?). I checked both ends of the cable the ethernet is firmly plugged in on both ends. It seems my router is definitely dying.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      I would be tempted to call Sky and ask about a replacement router in this case.

      You might have to pay 35 + postage for the Sagem 2504N though as the Netgear you have will be out of warranty.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I would be tempted to call Sky and ask about a replacement router in this case.

      You might have to pay 35 + postage for the Sagem 2504N though as the Netgear you have will be out of warranty.
      I was told that the replacement was free if it was the same model router?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      You could go for one of the WiFi g routers (which is what the Netgear DG834) is. They used to charge 28 for these, so that would be a good bargain.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      After doing a little skimming through the net. I came across the "use your own router" stuff which led me back to these forums. I have an old white netgear router (yes bit of a downgrade) from when I was with AOL. AOL didn't supply it, I had to buy the damn thing.

      I have found out my ADSL username and password using that website on the thread here: Getting your V1 and V2 router passwords - the safe way

      I can't remember what model router my white router is but it looks like this:AC/DC connection cause of high pings?-6-30-08-wgr614l.jpg

      I know there is more than one version of the white router but I assume any would work, correct? I am not a newbie when it comes to networking etc but getting that extra bit of clarification could stop me from potentially wasting my time... I plan on doing this in the morning if I have the time.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      Sounds like you have the Netgear DG834GT. It supports up to 108mb/s WiFi. All the grey Sky routers (Netgear DG934G, D-Link 2640S, Sagem2504) are WiFi g routers and support up to 54mb/s.

      The Sagem 2304n should be avoided (72mb/s, very slow GUI).

      The Sagem 2504N supports upto 144mb/s.

      All the Sky routers to date have 4 Ethernet 10/100mb ports. All the GUIs are locked down.

      The next router (Sky Hub SR101) is yet to be launched. Although it is a little better that the Sagem 2504N, if your current router is failing, then I would suggest that you go ahead and get yourself a new Sagem 2504N.

      An alternative idea would be to purchase a Cable router and use your Netgear DG834GT effectively as a Modem. See Tom's post for more on setting up a router like this. It works very well:

      Using the DLink DIR613.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      I have switched out the routers successfully. However I am confused as to why I am syncing at a slightly slower speed. Its not a problem I can deal with it being slightly slower (slightly being about a 40KB difference).

      I used to sync at 4092kbps now I am syncing at 3776kbps. Upload has remained the same. Would there need to be any settings I need to change? I have two options for DSL mode and two options for Multiplexing Method.

      DSL mode is currently on ADSL2+ and the other option can be changed to ADSL (G.DMT)

      As for Multiplexing I can change to LLC-BASED or VC-BASED. It is currently on VC-BASED.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: AC/DC connection cause of high pings?

      The settings are here:

      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION