Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 34 of 34

    Second Life HTTP Problems

    This is a discussion on Second Life HTTP Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; One question Isitme, how do I change back if I have to? Tick the box 'Obtain a DNS address automatically', ...

    1. #31
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      One question Isitme, how do I change back if I have to?
      Tick the box 'Obtain a DNS address automatically', it should put it back as it was. After following the majority of Tom's instructions to get back to that part.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Zin (08-09-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #32
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      I tried, completely lost all internet. Could sign on to nothing. On Second Life I got "Login Failed, DNS could not solve the host name"

      Back to square one. it could be however that I did not know where to put the second set of numbers

    5. #33
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Tried this:
      Example: Changing DNS server settings on Microsoft Windows 7

      1. Go the Control Panel.
      2. Click Network and Internet, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Change adapter settings.
      3. Select the connection for which you want to configure Google Public DNS. For example: If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
        • To change the settings for an Ethernet connection, right-click Local Area Connection, and click Properties.
        • To change the settings for a wireless connection, right-click Wireless Network Connection, and click Properties.

      4. Select the Networking tab. Under This connection uses the following items, select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) or Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6) and then click Properties.
      5. Click Advanced and select the DNS tab. If there are any DNS server IP addresses listed there, write them down for future reference, and remove them from this window.
      6. Click OK.
      7. Select Use the following DNS server addresses. If there are any IP addresses listed in the Preferred DNS server or Alternate DNS server, write them down for future reference.
      8. Replace those addresses with the IP addresses of the Google DNS servers:
        • For IPv4: 8.8.8.8 and/or 8.8.4.4.
        • For IPv6: 2001:4860:4860::8888 and/or 2001:4860:4860::8844

      9. Restart the connection you selected in step 3.
      10. Test that your setup is working correctly; see Testing your new settings below.
      11. Repeat the procedure for additional network connections you want to change.


      Just says the IP has an error

    6. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Forget IPv6 for now. When Sky switches across then it will be required, but for now it will just serve to confuse you.

      Essentially you are looking to get the IPv4 properties to look like the screen dump below:

      Second Life HTTP Problems-ipv4-properties.jpg

      When you have got that, click 'Ok' to close that window and 'Ok' again to close the previous window.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION