Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Second Life HTTP Problems

    This is a discussion on Second Life HTTP Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Zin All I can get close to is Firmware 2.8Sky In this case you have the Sagem ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Zin View Post
      All I can get close to is Firmware 2.8Sky
      In this case you have the Sagem 2504, which looks like this:



      Edit: Ok Ged beat me to it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Well, I have been told the constant HTTP request of V3 is causing the DNS to drop out, thus logging me out.

      Vendor? Who do you mean?

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      A quick google shows this;

      It's hard to explain why Firestorm and V2/3 give you trouble but Phoenix doesn't, except that the V2/3 code seems to be a little more sensitive that the V1 codebase that Phoenix is built on. There are two things to try, though. The easiest is to reboot your router. Just unplug it from the power for a few minutes. Go get a sandwich. When you plug it back in, reboot your computer for good measure. That operation will clean out the router's RAM and give it a chance to get a fresh grasp on an IP address.
      If that doesn't do the trick, replace the DNS settings that your ISP assigns you by default with the Google free public DNS server addresses. You'll find good instructions for doing that at http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/.
      Have a try of this?

      https://developers.google.com/speed/...dns/docs/using




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Zin View Post
      Well, I have been told the constant HTTP request of V3 is causing the DNS to drop out, thus logging me out.

      Vendor? Who do you mean?
      That will be the people who run the game / Second Life / V3 etc

      It looks like they have an issue etc and are fully aware of it.

      Try changing the DNS on your network adapter according to that link and see if that helps?

      If you are unsure then I would probably not attemp to etc incase you mess things up and lose your connection completely.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #25
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      A quick google shows this;



      Have a try of this?

      https://developers.google.com/speed/...dns/docs/using
      Yeah, have been told to, but it would cause to many problems to other in this house. Besides, i don't feel confident about doing it

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      The explanation from LL indicates it may be a DNS bug, so you could try changing the DNS in your PC. To do this on Win 7 right click the internet icon in the Tray and select 'Open Network and Sharing Centre'. Click 'Change Adapter settings' in the left pane. Highlight 'IPv4(TCP/IPv4)' and click the 'Properties' button. Select 'Use the following DNS Servers' and type in 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220. These are the OPenDNS addresses and may solve your problem.

      The procedure for Vista and XP is similar, if you are using a Mac, sorry no idea.

      One day I will strangle SWMBO for interrupting me in the middle of posting.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Zin (08-09-12)

    9. #27
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      It shouldn't affect anyone tbh

      All DNS does is tell your browser etc which PC a website is on etc, (in laymans terms) and also, Google DNS is actually very good. If you change it on your network settings on the PC then it would only affect that PC

      If you can find the courage or ask someone who is prepared to do it for you, it may just resolve your issue.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Zin (08-09-12)

    11. #28
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      One day I will strangle SWMBO for interrupting me in the middle of posting.[/QUOTE]

      Will this affect only my computer, or all connected to the router? Not using Mac.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      It shouldn't affect anyone tbh

      All DNS does is tell your browser etc which PC a website is on etc, (in laymans terms) and also, Google DNS is actually very good. If you change it on your network settings on the PC then it would only affect that PC

      If you can find the courage or ask someone who is prepared to do it for you, it may just resolve your issue.
      It may be my only hope as all the viewers will soon use this sysytem

    12. #29
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Will this affect only my computer, or all connected to the router? Not using Mac.
      Only the PC with the changes, all the other devices will get their DNS off the router as before.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    13. #30
      Zin's Avatar
      Zin
      Zin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second Life HTTP Problems

      Thank you everyone, I think I may have to try the DNS change, the way it was explained by Isitme, makes me a little more confident. I think I have to bite the bullet.

      One question Isitme, how do I change back if I have to?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION