Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30
    Like Tree3Likes

    DLM not started yet

    This is a discussion on DLM not started yet within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yesterday my sky Broadband Unlimited package was activated but as yet the DLM testing has yet to start according to ...

    1. #1
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      DLM not started yet

      Yesterday my sky Broadband Unlimited package was activated but as yet the DLM testing has yet to start according to the my broadband page in my sky

      How long does it normally take for the DLM testing to start?

      I don't think my speed will improve too much as my line is quite long but every little helps

      Yesterdays stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2233 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.9 dB 14.1 dB

      Today's stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2233 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.5 dB 13.9 dB

      My speed does seem very stable at present so would that maybe be the reason for the DLM not starting?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: DLM not started yet





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      If your line is very stable you might get a bit more, especially on the upload.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Thanks an interesting read, if DLM is to start it should be underway by Monday

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If your line is very stable you might get a bit more, especially on the upload.
      Yes early days but the line does seem very stable I've had a consistent speed now for 26 hours

    6. #5
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      I think the DLM may have started as my line speed is going up

      Saturday

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2233 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.5 dB 13.9 dB

      Sunday Morning

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2510 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 5.9 dB 8.1 dB

      The noise margin is also significantly lower than yesterday and Friday

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      The noise margin is also significantly lower than yesterday and Friday
      That is quite normal. The higher the speed the lower your noise margin will be. Your next move will possibly be down to 3 db, which will again increase your speed, but to be honest very few long lines such as yours will remain stable with a very low noise margin. You may already be at your maximum speeds.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is quite normal. The higher the speed the lower your noise margin will be. Your next move will possibly be down to 3 db, which will again increase your speed, but to be honest very few long lines such as yours will remain stable with a very low noise margin. You may already be at your maximum speeds.
      Yeah I'm not expecting much more of an increase now, the speed is still the same as this morning so its staying very stable, and for what I use the internet for its more than fast enough

    9. #8
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      Good morning, had another small increase in speed overnight this time just on the downstream

      Sunday Morning

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2510 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 5.9 dB 8.1 dB

      Monday Morning

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2720 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 65.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 2.3 dB 8.4 dB

    10. #9
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      As I expected DLM did commence yesterday (Sunday) and will take up-to 10 days to complete, the my broadband page in my sky has now updated to show its underway

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM not started yet

      There is a good chance it has gone too low and will revert to the former speed. 2.3db is very low, especially on a long line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION