Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    GPRS access through Sagem router

    This is a discussion on GPRS access through Sagem router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You really need to know which port the server is using, then just add that one rule, (You will have ...

    1. #21
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      You really need to know which port the server is using, then just add that one rule, (You will have to manually create it and then add it)

      Then we can go from there.

      A quick google says

      If I remember correctly, the compact edition uses dynamic ports so it shouldn't be necessary for port 1433/1434 to be open as would be the case for a standard SQL Server/SQL Browser. Additionally, the application itself must have permission to access the database as well. In the non-compact edition, you would achieve this with a service account or a local network service account (or a role) and while enabling permissions on the host side would assure this part, it wouldn't affect the connection state between the application and the database which would be controlled at the sql permission level. It would make sense the compact edition follows the same ruleset as standard SQL Server; I am speculating based on the standard version.
      I can ping your IP so the firewall is definitely off, but I would delete all the rules you have added for now to be on the safe side.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      SteveMaguire's Avatar
      SteveMaguire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01743
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      I've changed it back to allow any ip and any port through. I don't want to waste your time so if there isn't anything else you can think of I should go back to the drawing board.

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      You ain't wasting my time, I don't mind helping.

      The firewall is definitely off as it still pings, so we know the connection is there, its just a case of finding the right port that the software uses I think.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      SteveMaguire's Avatar
      SteveMaguire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01743
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      That's the big question. The manufacturer sent me a picture of how they configure the system on a dlink router. I don't know if this will help but it goes back to NATting

      GPRS access through Sagem router-nat.jpg

    6. #25
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      I just tried it

      Your external IP

      90.xx.xx.xx/SQLCE35/sqlcesa35.dll

      And got this

      Microsoft SQL Server Compact Server Agent

      So it looks like it is working to a degree, you just need to sort the ports out now I guess.

      Will have a look at the piccie now.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #26
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      OK not really sure about the picture that they have sent.

      The Sky router will not allow a rule with a port of 80255 to be created, I just tried.

      The default port for Microsoft SQL Server Compact Edition is 1433 according to Network Topologies (SQL Server Compact Edition) so I would make a new rule for that and then forward it to 192.168.0.2 for now then we can try again?

      But you really need to delete all the others that you have added so far to lock your connection down.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #27
      SteveMaguire's Avatar
      SteveMaguire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01743
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      I did point out that it only goes to 65000 odd. I have just created 1433 and added it to 192.168.0.2. That is the only one I now have in
      # Enable Service Name Action LAN Server IP address WAN Users Log
      1 Dotel ALLOW always 192.168.0.2 (1433:1433) 0.0.0.0 (1:65535) Never
      Default Yes Any BLOCK always Any Any Never

    9. #28
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      Well port 1433 hasn't resolved it. Could you try adding port 255 as well?

      We know it works with the firewall disabled so its just a case of finding the right one for now.

      Incidentally if you do what you did before, ie add all ports open then you should be able to access it via a neighbour's connection or by 3G I would assume, just to see for yourself.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #29
      SteveMaguire's Avatar
      SteveMaguire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01743
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      OK. Added 255 as well.

      What should I be trying to access "http://192.168.0.2/Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server Compact Edition\v3.5\sync\SQL\SQLCE35".

    11. #30
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: GPRS access through Sagem router

      Quote Originally Posted by SteveMaguire View Post
      OK. Added 255 as well.

      What should I be trying to access "http://192.168.0.2/Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server Compact Edition\v3.5\sync\SQL\SQLCE35".
      If it was going to work behind your router, ie you using it at home, then you could try;

      192.168.0.2/SQLCE35/sqlcesa35.dll (but not sure if that would work)

      With the rules added to open all the ports, then using mobile or neighbours connection it would be

      yourexternalIP/SQLCE35/sqlcesa35.dll (as that is what worked before when I tried it)

      But there should be a port number ie

      yourexternalIP:1433/SQLCE35/sqlcesa35.dll or yourexternalIP:255/SQLCE35/sqlcesa35.dll

      You can get your IP by looking in the router, at present it begins with 2 as an indication for you to see

      As I have never used it, I am really not sure how to set it up to listen on a particular port, which is what it seems it is doing, and you need to find what that is,maybe someone else will be able to suggest something?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION