Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Constant timeouts/MS issues

    This is a discussion on Constant timeouts/MS issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yep, definitely the test socket. The engineer test port, no microfilters - straight to the router. Will definitely give them ...

    1. #11
      Shallfull's Avatar
      Shallfull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Yep, definitely the test socket. The engineer test port, no microfilters - straight to the router.
      Will definitely give them a ring tomorrow.

      It definitely used to be around 3meg, honestly have no idea what caused the timeouts/ping all of a sudden.
      Oh well, thanks a lot for the help.
      Will keep the thread posted after I have a ring tomorrow if I can.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Did you check the link I posted to see if there is an issue at your exchange?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      Shallfull's Avatar
      Shallfull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Sorry about the late response, yeah I checked the exchange thing and have been the past week every now & again.
      As expected there are no issues with the ellesmere port exchange, apparently.

    5. #14
      Shallfull's Avatar
      Shallfull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Just finished on the phone with them, apparently there were quite a lot of critical errors on the line so they're sending out a new microfilter.
      Will see if that changes anything.

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Have you not got a spare one in the Router box you could try for now?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      Shallfull's Avatar
      Shallfull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Unfortunately not, and even if I ordered one online now, it wouldn't arrive until theirs did. Sucks.

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Shallfull View Post
      Unfortunately not, and even if I ordered one online now, it wouldn't arrive until theirs did. Sucks.
      Why not try it in the master socket (test) and leave it for a few hours with the phones etc unplugged, effectively the same end result as a new filter?

      All a filter does is seperate the voice from the data side of things iirc so with no voice, then its the same as using a filter anyway.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      seen plenty of filters error even without anything else connected
      but use could try with without filter if you have ordinary telephone cable plug in router directly

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Constant timeouts/MS issues

      try with without filter if you have ordinary telephone cable plug in router directly
      The phone connection from your Sky box would do, or a dial up modem cable connection..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION