Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

    This is a discussion on Is my router faulty, or is it another issue? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have always viewed these pages for advice but never posted... I have the full sky bb package and ...

    1. #1
      resolution's Avatar
      resolution is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portishead
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Portishead, Bristol
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      Hi, I have always viewed these pages for advice but never posted...

      I have the full sky bb package and usually get about 4.5 to 5 mb download speeds, but the last week it has dropped to about 1 or 1.2 mb.

      I have done all the obvious checks, filters, master socket, internal faceplates seem ok etc and have moved the router to all of the 3 internal sockets. No change.

      I've spoken to sky "level 2" faults and they have tested the line and said there is no obvious line fault. They suspect it's the router that has gone faulty... It's 5 yrs old - netgear dg834t - the original one supplied.

      They advise I either "borrow" another one and test it (not sure where I borrow one from) or purchase a new one for 35...... Ouch.

      Any suggestions please?? Is it realistic that the router may be faulty?? All the lighs are on as normal.

      Stats below.

      Thanks.


      System Up Time*03:19:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 9138 8727 0 301 1179 01:26:34
      LAN 10M/100M 1886 0 0 34 0 03:19:40
      WLAN 11M/54M 17923 22505 0 1139 237 03:19:33

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1255 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.5 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 15.9 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      I had a similar problem about a year ago. All lights behaved as normal but it just wouldn't connect.
      Did all the things you have done i.e. changed filters; tried master socket etc.
      Had to bite the bullet and get a new one from them.
      I believe that it's still in the T&C that you use a Sky router but, in any case, 35 isn't bad for an 'N' rated router!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #3
      resolution's Avatar
      resolution is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portishead
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Portishead, Bristol
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      Thanks, I've been doing a bit of research and the new router does seem good, but I'm reluctant to spend the 35 and it not fix the problem.

      Does any one know if the stats show a different problem, or can't they tell that??

      The sky advisor seemed pretty sure it was the router, it's never been a problem untill the last few days.

      P.

    5. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      easy way to know use another router does NOT have to connect to internet all you need to see is the line stats borrow 1 or if you know someone with sky borrow thiers

    6. #5
      NilSatisOptimum's Avatar
      NilSatisOptimum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNNN
      Broadband ISP: Fibre 38d/19.5u
      Router: Billion Bipac
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Y Drenewydd
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      have you plugged the router into the test socket, even your 4.5 to 5mbps is on the low side for attenuation of 43.5

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      You are looking for a rise in the noise margin in the Test socket(link below), you will not necessarily see a rise in speed as it may be capped down. When using the Test socket, use only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky, do not use a telephone extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      resolution's Avatar
      resolution is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portishead
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Portishead, Bristol
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      Thanks all,

      I have tried a mates Sky Router (same as my model) in the master test socket and it gives about 2.1Mbps speed...... in one of the extension sockets it gives about 1.2 mbps the same as mine currently dose.

      I also re-tried my router in the master test socket today and it gives about 2 Mbps. Both were using the cables supplied by Sky in the original box.

      I assume that its not the router thats at fault? As the advisor said I should get about 4-5 Mbs which is usually what I get.

      I will phone them back and press for a fault to be reported on the line or some more investigating.

      Thanks.

      P.

    9. #8
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      if another router showing same stats then not router issue but from what you have said your internal wiring at fault as well , if you leave router in test socket best speed results will be obtained , may also possible issue with line but depends on support teams what will happen next

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      Can you plug into the Test socket and post the stats please. Just because you only see 2Mb does not mean that is the maximum you can get. It could quite easily be capped at 2048kbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      resolution's Avatar
      resolution is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portishead
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Portishead, Bristol
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty, or is it another issue?

      Sorry for delay in reply...

      Have plugged my router into the test socket this morning and have the fastest speed connection ever!!

      Stats posted below. I think this proves the router is fine - so perhaps an internal cabling issue??

      System Up Time 00:02:16
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 2355 1792 0 2674 5551 00:01:40
      LAN 10M/100M 243 76 0 482 248 00:02:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 2295 2942 0 6213 2583 00:02:05

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5023 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 27.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.0 db 16.1 db

      I will look at the internal sockets again - but there have been no physical changes made by me - so I'm not sure why there should be a problem. Sky CS still advise to change router or check internal cabling.

      P.
      Last edited by resolution; 02-09-12 at 11:16 AM. Reason: extra info

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION