Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Estimated speed less than current speed with Plusnet

    This is a discussion on Estimated speed less than current speed with Plusnet within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; At last i have my BAND number after registering in July. Called Sky and the call was answered immediately by ...

    1. #1
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Smile Estimated speed less than current speed with Plusnet

      At last i have my BAND number after registering in July.

      Called Sky and the call was answered immediately by a very friendly and helpful scottish lady.

      All sorted and order in a total of 11 minutes.

      she check my line and quoted a speed of around 3Mb. Bit surprised as I synch at over 5Mb with plusnet, but still gone for the Max package and we'll see what actually happens.

      She also went to create my sky email address and said I already had 1 as I must be registered for skybybroadband service.... we'll see if this means I'll be able to get on the portal okay when it arrive. Doesn't matter as I have my own domain which redirects to google so it doesn't really matter for me if the portal doesn't work.

      So hopefully just a few more days and I'll be there.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Red

      The thing I have seen is you cannot believe any stats that you get off a website checker etc.

      Mine quite clearly states:

      That the most I can get is 3.5 - 4mb

      This I was getting until I changed my faceplate, now I am getting 6.7mb

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6752 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.2 db 22.0 db

      So I would suspect that you should get the same as Plusnet or greater, with no traffic shaping, no constant changing of the T and C's and a relatively clear FUP policy, for less money.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 11-10-06 at 10:00 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Yeah, before I had a new faceplate I got less than 2Mb with plusnet. My stats are now:

      Speed: 5152 448
      SNR (dB): 14.1 21.0
      Attn(dB): 45.5 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.3 12.2

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I would settle for 2mb and not be on Plusnet

      Wishes he had a band number..........




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      The strange thing is I was giving up but decided to try re-registering again, but this time thru Sky Active. 2 hrs later i have my band code via email.

      I'm sure it's pure coincidence, but maybe.......

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I'm now resigned I won't get one offered until my exchange is LLU enabled, which is showing December 06




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Well it was activation day and true to Sky's word I was ready to go when I got home. Plugged in my netgear at 5pm (not the best time to do it) and I'm all up and running:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8098 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 27.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 9.6 db

      The line attenuation confuses me as it was 45.5 on my linksys, so why the increase?

      So i'm synching at 8Mb now compared to 5Mb on Plusnet and getting 'real' speeds of 6600Kbps down and 630Kbps up compared to 3900Kbps down and 370Kbps up on Plusnet.

      Left uPnP on for the mo but changed to 108auto and will see how it goes. Will probably reboot router first thing in the morning when the network is quiet as well.

      All for an 11pm saving and no limits on downloads like Plusnets peak time managementand only 40GB in total.
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 23-10-06 at 07:01 PM. Reason: added final line

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Well connection lasted 25 mins before locking up so uPnP is now off and it's been 2hrs 20mins.

      Email isn't working either (pop or web).... not that I'm too bothered about that.

      Can't complain for a tenner.

    10. #9
      craigiusmaximus's Avatar
      craigiusmaximus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mexborough (SLMEX)
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Rotherham
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Could you keep this thread updated please as im with plusnet at the mo and looking to change to sky once my exchange has been enabled do you think the Netgear routher may have help with the sync speed?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION