Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Speeds decreased - how to escalate

    This is a discussion on Speeds decreased - how to escalate within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I just got off a long call with sky complaining out my broadband speed. I've been a Sky BB customer ...

    1. #1
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      I just got off a long call with sky complaining out my broadband speed.

      I've been a Sky BB customer since they took over UKOnline (was with them previously). My connection speed has never been less that about 6.8 meg. About 10 months ago, my exchange was upgraded to sky equipment, and I bought a Billion 7700n, and, after getting them to 'tweak' my line, I got about 8.1 meg, with stats of :

      Downstream Upstream
      Line Coding(Trellis): On On
      SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 69 152
      Attenuation (0.1 dB): 455 270
      Output Power (0.1 dBm): 191 121
      Attainable Rate (Kbps): 9576 1101

      For about a week, I've noticed that the connection speed has gone down dramatically and now I'm getting 5.8 meg (with either router). In fact, connected into the master socket with microfilters, I'm only getting 5.5 meg, but they would not accept diags using my BT fitted ADSL 1.0 filtered faceplate.

      My stats are now:

      Downstream Upstream
      Line Coding(Trellis): On On
      SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 74 106
      Attenuation (0.1 dB): 465 290
      Output Power (0.1 dBm): 188 121
      Attainable Rate (Kbps): 6240 1051

      so SNR is up, and attenuation is up.

      Level 1 tell me they cannot escalate a 25% loss in speed because according to their 'program', I should be able to get between 5 and 11 meg, and since I'm getting that, L2 won't help and they can't escalate.

      Does anyone have any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      I'm only getting 5.5 meg, but they would not accept diags using my BT fitted ADSL 1.0 filtered faceplate.
      I would assume thats because Sky Broadband only allows you to connect (as per T and C's) using Sky's equipment.

      Why not just plug your Sky router in and then post the stats?

      Then ring Sky and get them to sort it that way. This way they can not refuse in reality as you are using their kit. Once sorted, plug your router back in. Simplez.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Why not just plug your Sky router in and then post the stats?
      I did log in with their equipment too. Here are some stats I just pulled.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5276 5265 0 38849 52832 00:01:15
      LAN 100M/Full 5639 6791 0 29777 23086 00:02:21
      WLAN 11M/54M 800 428 0 1726 342 00:02:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5566 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

      with that attenuation, I should be getting 8.5 meg on ADSL2+

      As I'm sure you know, getting any decent diag info off the sky router with sky firmware is impossible, hence connecting my billion router.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      Your attenuation is better than mine at 49 and I am getting 7meg

      Ring Sky with the Sky Router plugged in and ask them to up the speed.

      Then put your router back on once resolved, otherwise Sky will do nothing for you.

      Good luck.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      Asking them to run DLM training again is probably your best bet. This can set the noise margin lower than they can manually and should, theoretically, give you a better speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      They sent out an openreach engineer to test the quality of the line. He said there was nothing wrong with it and it was clean. Sky bumped up the line to a max of 16 meg and even then it didn't connect faster. He even went to the exchange and connected there using my pair and with a plug to simulate the right attenuation didn't get faster.

      He showed me where my cables run in the road and to of my neighbours (one with O2 and one with TalkTalk) both get 8 meg consistently and they are further down the line. I can only summise it's something in the exchange. This is what speedtest shows now, compared to my sig...



      Now I'm going to have the fun of getting them to check the exchange. The annoying thing is that sky even said everything was find until Aug 13th. On that day, my speed dropped and hasn't come back good since.

    8. #7
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds decreased - how to escalate

      I'm getting seriously fed up. I still have the problem. The openreach engineer told Sky that everything was ok with my line - which it is.. it's just the equipment in the exchange is at fault - and he didn't tell them that... grrrrr.

      Sky told me that other people on the 'card' are running slower than me, but imho, that fact is a useful a chocolate teapot since every user on the same card could be a mile further downstream.

      I've raised another ticket as the connection as been up and down like a ******** ****** today.

      Am I going to have to leave sky to improve things? To go onto Virgin 30mb with the equivalent unlimited phone package would cost me an extra 4.40 per month (80 over the 18th month minimum) assuming the quidco tracks. Or 6.40 extra for 60mb. Fibre with sky would cost me an extra 12.50 per month and would probably only get me in the region of 40-50mb. I'd be happy if I got 8mb back.. but being on 5.5mb is seriously annoying.

      This is what I'm getting currently....
      Last edited by Scubbie; 08-09-12 at 12:15 AM. Reason: Removed swear words

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION