Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29
    Like Tree6Likes

    DLM system changed?

    This is a discussion on DLM system changed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by dgilbert2 Thanks Tom, I was thinking that the ramp down of the noise level in such a ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      Thanks Tom, I was thinking that the ramp down of the noise level in such a controlled way was more something that the DSLAM is doing rather than noise/REIN, as I would expect that to be more of a random event?
      Normal noise on the line will increase and decrease slowly over the course of 24 hours. The fact that yours is changing so abruptly suggests that something is effecting it which is being switched on and off. As I said, watch for the intervals between the changes and see if you can tie it to anything in your locality.


      Well I have to say that I am on DLM at the moment and do not have that, my SNR is pretty stable. Mine has been like this for almost 13 hours
      You will only see the margin changing abrutly when the line resyncs, even then it is only likely to be 1 or 2 db.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Just a quick update here. Looks like they've lowered my SNR again.

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11260 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 dB 25.0 dB
      Noise Margin 3.8 dB 13.7 dB

      Looks like it was aiming to sync at 3.5db, not sure.

      DLM system changed?-rawr.jpg

      Up to 11Mb now, shall see how it goes here

      I'll be greatly happy if I get a whole 2Mb increase from this
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    4. #13
      steve61's Avatar
      steve61 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM system changed?

      DLM restarted on my line 26/07/2012 and dropped to 3db and has stayed constant.
      I posted here Strange increase in speed sync regarding this.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 21194 kbps 992 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 8 db

      Very Happy
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    5. #14
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Quote Originally Posted by steve61 View Post
      DLM restarted on my line 26/07/2012 and dropped to 3db and has stayed constant.
      I posted here Strange increase in speed sync regarding this.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 21194 kbps 992 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 8 db

      Very Happy
      So it looks like this is now the norm

      I noticed, reading through your thread, Isitme says:

      Keep your fingers crossed you are not moved to SVBN any time soon or your speed will come down to 20 Mb, although your upload would probably go up
      Why is this? Does the Sky SVBN only go up to 20Mb?

    6. #15
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Not all lines will cope down to 3dB without generating too many CRC errors, so it will be interesting to see what happens and if the DLM process puts the default SNR up again.

    7. #16
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      Not all lines will cope down to 3dB without generating too many CRC errors, so it will be interesting to see what happens and if the DLM process puts the default SNR up again.
      The way I understand it, I may be wrong, my SNR wouldn't have dropped to 3.0dB if 6.0dB was unstable right?

      I have been on 3.0db since this morning, so if it lasts a few days and doesn't go back up to 6.0db it should mean I am stable on 3.0db.

      I've had a BT engineer to the house recently and he said my line sounds perfect Probably doesn't mean much though.

    8. #17
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Quote Originally Posted by James_478 View Post
      The way I understand it, I may be wrong, my SNR wouldn't have dropped to 3.0dB if 6.0dB was unstable right?

      I have been on 3.0db since this morning, so if it lasts a few days and doesn't go back up to 6.0db it should mean I am stable on 3.0db.

      I've had a BT engineer to the house recently and he said my line sounds perfect Probably doesn't mean much though.
      If your not generating 1000's of CRC errors over a few minutes your fine, don't worry about it.

      I would expect some lines will go down to 3dB, the process should then detect if too many errors are being generated and put it back up again.

      It's all about the process finding the maximum speed it can that is stable without dropouts / high errors. If the SNR ends up at 6+ rather than 3, is not really important. Its speed and stability your after.

    9. #18
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DLM system changed?

      Quote Originally Posted by James_478 View Post
      Why is this? Does the Sky SVBN only go up to 20Mb?
      Highest manual profile on SVBN - 20000 ds /1216 us.
      Highest manual config on Non-SVBN - 24000 ds /1312 us.

      When I say manual, I mean that which a Sky employee over the phone can reprofile it to. DLM, however, has literally hundreds of profiles and a few that go above 20mbps. DLM will set above 20mbps on both SVBN and Non-SVBN.

    10. #19
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: DLM system changed?

      No point being able to set 24000000 ds / 1312000 us though
      if the stingers are locked at 21950004 ds / 1216000 us

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Highest manual config on Non-SVBN - 24000 ds /1312 us.

    11. #20
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM system changed?

      SNR has gone back up now and speed has dropped again

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10238 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 dB 25.0 dB
      Noise Margin 6.3 dB 13.7 dB

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION