Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 28 of 28

    Increase upload speed?

    This is a discussion on Increase upload speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; PS those cables do not match the ones in your master box, look at the colours. As per Scubbie, do ...

    1. #21
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      PS those cables do not match the ones in your master box, look at the colours.

      As per Scubbie, do you have any other boxes elsewhere?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      Willdobbo (20-08-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #22
      Willdobbo's Avatar
      Willdobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dinnington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      Would that help in any way? thanks for the help by the way

    5. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Willdobbo View Post
      Would that help in any way? thanks for the help by the way
      It all depends tbh

      When you used the test socket (behind the faceplate) and with just the router in, then none of the other extensions should work, ie no dial tone.

      Looking at the master socket, it looks like you have 2 extensions running from it, hence all the wires in the front plate.

      But saying that, if just using the test socket and you get the same stats, sort of says, that the wiring is fine as it is.

      Maybe just try ringing Sky and see if they can put your speed up?

      It will either be a 2 minute job or a few hours lol




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #24
      Willdobbo's Avatar
      Willdobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dinnington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      Okay thanks, i just checked around and there isnt any more sockets anywhere

      Guess i will just call them and see if they can just bump it up.
      Do any of you know where can check and see when fibre becomes available in my area?

    7. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Willdobbo View Post
      Okay thanks, i just checked around and there isnt any more sockets anywhere
      The difference could be down to the quality of the line (beyond your control if outside your home) or the quality of the connectors in the NTE5 socket/test socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Willdobbo View Post
      Guess i will just call them and see if they can just bump it up.
      Do any of you know where can check and see when fibre becomes available in my area?
      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      If BTO has announced any plans for Fibre in your area, it will state on the SamKnows site (link above). If there is a date, it could be roughly on time or postponed. Some exchanges have be postponed on many occasions.

      Once Fibre has been installed there may be other delays before you can order Sky Fibre. For more information, please check out the Fibre FAQ:

      Sky Fibre Broadband - FAQ

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Willdobbo (20-08-12)

    9. #26
      Willdobbo's Avatar
      Willdobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dinnington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      21CN WBC status: RFS date set : 31/10/2012
      FTTC status: RFS date set : 30/09/2012

      Well that is what it says on sam knows

    10. #27
      Willdobbo's Avatar
      Willdobbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dinnington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      So i guess thats a good thing

    11. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Increase upload speed?

      It may explain why you can't get a higher connection speed. Quite a few members have complained that when BTO have been installing Fibre their connection speed has dropped.

      You will need to keep an eye on your local area. Ideally a new BT Green Street Box will be installed soon near to your existing green street box.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION