Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 38 of 38
    Like Tree4Likes

    Switching to Sky a question

    This is a discussion on Switching to Sky a question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Nothing to worry about then. The NTE5 was introduced to allow consumers to fit their own ...

    1. #31
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Nothing to worry about then.

      The NTE5 was introduced to allow consumers to fit their own extensions if they wished as it can be done without interfering with the main line. BTO's responsibility stops at the Test socket, which the faceplate plugs into. Previously it was against the BT T&Cs for a consumer to interfere with the master socket in any way, the only way for a user to add an extension was to use a plug in type.
      Thanks for the reply


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Well today is the day I'm now 3hrs 35 mins into the 5 hour time slot for the BTO engineer, starting to wonder if one will actually turn up plenty of time I know but most of the work is done at the exchanges I believe

      EDIT

      Now into the final hour of the time slot
      Last edited by Gavin20; 07-09-12 at 01:00 PM.

    4. #33
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Final Update

      The BTO engineer arrived at 12:30 I asked him if he could move the master socket to the back room to which he replied no problem, took him around 45 minutes put a brand new open-reach master socket in did some work at the green box and he was finished just before 15:00 all in all very happy with the service
      Last edited by Gavin20; 07-09-12 at 06:28 PM.
      NewsreadeR, Paul2003 and Poppet25 like this.

    5. #34
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      So having been connected to sky this afternoon here is the first stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2233 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 39.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.9 dB 14.1 dB

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Nice result for you line length. Whilst that is the initial connection speed, do let DLM do it's job first, but I suspect that you might be better off with having it set to 'ADSL' (aka G.DMT) rather than 'ADSL2+'.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Nice result for you line length. Whilst that is the initial connection speed, do let DLM do it's job first, but I suspect that you might be better off with having it set to 'ADSL' (aka G.DMT) rather than 'ADSL2+'.
      Yeah need to give it 10 days so it can settle down, I was given a speed of up-to 9mbps with 5.5 most likely

    8. #37
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      I was given a speed of up-to 9mbps with 5.5 most likely
      With an attenuation of 64 I would doubt very much you would get anywhere near tbh

      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 2mb to 3mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service. This ADSL2 Line Speed Calculator is a best guess only, as to the broadband speed that maybe possible on your telephone line. The checker provides results of up to 24mb with the data that is made available to us. This is purely for indication only and should not be classed as the Line Speed that you would receive on any ADSL or LLU product from another ISP.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #38
      Gavin20's Avatar
      Gavin20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Virgin Media Super Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky a question

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      With an attenuation of 64 I would doubt very much you would get anywhere near tbh

      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 2mb to 3mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service. This ADSL2 Line Speed Calculator is a best guess only, as to the broadband speed that maybe possible on your telephone line. The checker provides results of up to 24mb with the data that is made available to us. This is purely for indication only and should not be classed as the Line Speed that you would receive on any ADSL or LLU product from another ISP.

      Thanks for the reply, I shall be keeping a close eye on the speed over the coming day's according to the my broadband page in my sky Line testing is not currently in progress

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION