Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Can't connect to the internet, Help!

    This is a discussion on Can't connect to the internet, Help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, All of a sudden some new networks have been installed in my area. This I think has interfered with ...

    1. #1
      Monsteize's Avatar
      Monsteize is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      Hi, All of a sudden some new networks have been installed in my area. This I think has interfered with my connection. My laptop has a Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter built in and I get limited internet access. I used to get around 3 minutes on the internet before it kept dropping out, but now I can't get any internet access. Sometimes the connection says that my computer doesn't meet the requirements for this network. My sister has the same laptop model and the same problem. The internet is fine if my laptop is connected to the Sky router via ethernet cable. My Xbox 360 uses WiFi to connect to my router and that is fine. I am not sure whether it is my Sky Router or Laptop. The new connections have been up for about 2 week now and nothing has changed. I am using Windows 7 if that helps. All I know that my router is a Sky Sagem.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      Try changing the channel the router is using. Channel 13 is usually a good bet.

      You could also download and use Inssider, link below, to discover the channels in use in your area.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Apoc3001's Avatar
      Apoc3001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      I can almost guarantee the problem is with the wireless adaptor. Are you by any chance using windows Vista?

      If you are then ensure you update your driver as soon as possible, vista combined with an atheros wireless card that's not up-to-date appears to have issues with holding connection/connecting at all.

    5. #4
      Monsteize's Avatar
      Monsteize is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Apoc3001 View Post
      I can almost guarantee the problem is with the wireless adaptor. Are you by any chance using windows Vista?

      If you are then ensure you update your driver as soon as possible, vista combined with an atheros wireless card that's not up-to-date appears to have issues with holding connection/connecting at all.
      No I am using windows 7, I have tried updating all my drivers including my wireless adapter.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      Have you changed the channel? Yours is a very common problem with more and more users going 'wireless'. Unfortunately the Sky routers are not the most powerful out there, so they suffer when a new network opens up nearby.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Monsteize (21-07-12)

    8. #6
      Monsteize's Avatar
      Monsteize is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the internet, Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Monsteize View Post
      No I am using windows 7, I have tried updating all my drivers including my wireless adapter.
      Thank you! I changed to channel 13 and it is working fine

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION