Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    slow broadband

    This is a discussion on slow broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; its a bit better now ive talked to tier 2 support, he did say there was a lot of errors ...

    1. #11
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      its a bit better now ive talked to tier 2 support, he did say there was a lot of errors on the line and that he would put it on a 10 day stability profile? I am to phone them back if it doesn't improve.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by dbassett View Post
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:10:29
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 2512 2506 0 0 0 0:08:47
      LAN Up 4683 4193 0 2855 277 0:10:29
      WLAN Up 158 45 0 56 0 0:10:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2720 kbps 253 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 dB 30.1 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 20.7 dB
      Your line should sync much higher than 2.7Mbps, it is an improvement but still shows that something is going on, your line should be syncing at around 5Mbps.

      Are them stats posted when router and phone was in test socket?

      If they are you must have a line fault.

    4. #13
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      yes those stats are from the test socket but are the same as from the pre-filtered faceplate afaik. I don't have any extensions on the line only a master socket. sky did test the line with the modem plugged into the test socket and did say there was a lot of noise on the line. i'll let the dlm finish and then get back to them if the speed doesn't improve.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      Is there noise on your voice line, if so report it to Sky Talk. Getting it fixed may improve your broadband. DLM will not fix a noisy line, only set the speed lower.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      there is some kind of muffled squealing sound on the line that varies in tone, that's with a corded phone plugged directly into the test socket. is it supposed to be silent or is that sound normal? hmm just checked the snr margin and its gone up to 19db at around the same time (22:50) as yesterday so maybe its outside interference?
      Last edited by dbassett; 16-07-12 at 11:52 PM.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      there is some kind of muffled squealing sound on the line that varies in tone
      It should be completely silent except maybe a very faint hiss. What you describe sounds a bit like the noise made by the modem communicating. You don't have the router plugged in as well do you? If not call Sky Talk and tell them you have noise on your line. If you do have the router plugged in, unplug it and test again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It should be completely silent except maybe a very faint hiss. What you describe sounds a bit like the noise made by the modem communicating. You don't have the router plugged in as well do you? If not call Sky Talk and tell them you have noise on your line. If you do have the router plugged in, unplug it and test again.
      the noise is the same if the modem is plugged in or not, I checked by connecting the phone via the test socket on its own and the noise is still there.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      I checked by connecting the phone via the test socket on its own and the noise is still there.
      That confirms it is the line, report it. If that is fixed your broadband will improve.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      thanks i'll ring them up.

    11. #20
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow broadband

      well I rang them up, they tested the line 1 test failed, 2 tests said it was ok but escalated it to tier 2. I described the noise to them and they transferred the case to network solutions? I assume that's the broadband lot
      Last edited by dbassett; 21-07-12 at 05:21 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION