Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Manual line configuration.

    This is a discussion on Manual line configuration. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone recently my internet sync speeds have been all over the place it had stayed a constant 13200 down ...

    1. #1
      iJenks's Avatar
      iJenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontardawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Manual line configuration.

      Hi everyone recently my internet sync speeds have been all over the place it had stayed a constant 13200 down for about 2 years and about a 980 up but now it's gone insane it dropped to 8000 went up to 10000 down to 7000 up to 9000 and back up to 11000 and the upload went down to a 760 and i saw mentions of a manual line configuration but I'm not 100% sure what it is, is it phoning sky and asking for them to change my speeds to whatever I ask for as long as it's stable? If so what would I ask on the phone etc not very good with techy business and terms :P.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      post router line stats at 192.168.0.1 sky router setting page by that sort erractic behavior indicates somethng wrong with wiring ,setup or phoneline

    4. #3
      iJenks's Avatar
      iJenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontardawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 7087 7501 0 520 2163 00:49:34
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 13616 12876 0 3187 810 00:49:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12211 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5db 14.8db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 18.3db

    5. #4
      iJenks's Avatar
      iJenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontardawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      Downstream sync is now back down to 9000.

      I logged onto My sky and it said line testing completed on the 30th of june and my download has been set to 3.1 Mbps and my upload has been set to 0.3 I'm pretty sure it was much higher should I contact them about this or is that normal? :3

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      iJenks's Avatar
      iJenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontardawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      We don't have a test socket would it be a good idea to get an engineer to come out to have a look and install a test socket but my main confusion is why on my sky it says my download has been set to 3.1 and my upload has been set to 0.3 but before it could reach much higher speeds.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      If you are syncing at 12Mb you can't be set to 3Mb, maybe someone has missed out the 1s in front of the 3s.

      It will be quite expensive to get an NTE5 fitted, it is an easy enough job if you are a bit handy. It is against BT's regs, but not illegal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      iJenks's Avatar
      iJenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontardawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      Should I call and ask about that :P?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Manual line configuration.

      If you have Sky Talk its free, so why not.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION