Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow sync sky apparent fix!!

    This is a discussion on Slow sync sky apparent fix!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was getting a connection of 15mbps I then moved house about 500yds down the road, I am now syncing ...

    1. #1
      smarterzippo's Avatar
      smarterzippo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow sync sky apparent fix!!

      I was getting a connection of 15mbps I then moved house about 500yds down the road, I am now syncing at 4 Mbps.
      I have had a web chat to sky they ran tests and "stopped dlm" they said they can see a fault and will contact bt.
      The next day a had a text from sky saying the fault has been fixed without needing acess to my property but nothing has changed lol!!


      Here is the connection status



      I'm not far from the exchange my post code is bh22 9ut.

      Do you think I have an external fault ob my line.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Slow sync sky apparent fix!!

      Give your router a reboot and see what happens

    4. #3
      smarterzippo's Avatar
      smarterzippo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have removed all internal wiring from the master I now have the black incoming line straight on to my master with router straight on to that
      Still the same. Sky said people in my neighbourhood have the same speed and also my line should be capable of 10-12mbps
      I don't know what to believe now!!

    5. #4
      smarterzippo's Avatar
      smarterzippo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tied reboot no change!! If anything slightly slower!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow sync sky apparent fix!!

      Sky said people in my neighbourhood have the same speed and also my line should be capable of 10-12mbps
      I don't know what to believe now!!
      Well don't believe the 10-12mbps, 8-9 mbps would be very good for your attenuation.

      If you are sure your internal wiring is not interfering, check you line for noise. Plug in a corded phone and dial one digit and listen. It should be clear, except maybe a very faint hiss.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      smarterzippo's Avatar
      smarterzippo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      That attenuation is far to high for my distance from the exchange I am about 1 km away!!
      I don't think bt will do anything about this as its not a serious fault! I may be wrong


      ---
      I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?djngcq

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION