Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22
    Like Tree2Likes

    I think Sky are Capping my connection

    This is a discussion on I think Sky are Capping my connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Morning all, I have been with Sky for just over a month now and i can firmly say that my ...

    1. #1
      St1ffl3r's Avatar
      St1ffl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Morning all,
      I have been with Sky for just over a month now and i can firmly say that my speed has dropped, when i took out BB it was initially giving my just under 4mb, i did however request a lower ping connection on one of their gamer profiles. Since this change i have been sitting just above 2mb (literally only just) I spoke to my brother and he said that some of you guru's might be able to inform me what speeds i roughly get from my SNR etc.
      I have copied the details of connection from the router below, any help or advice would be greatly helped. As for the time being i am stuck on this connection since my cabinet will not be rolled out with the Fibre for the forseeable future.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2045 kbps 414 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.5 dB 23.6 dB
      Noise Margin 9.8 dB 16.0 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: SKY SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      596
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Morning dear brother.

      As I said to you on the phone, you are about 4.3 Km from your exchange. Based on your distance and the Attanuation of 59.5 the best you are likely to sync at is 3-4mb.

      Now that said, your noise margin is high, which is good. You can get this to 7db. I suspect SKY have capped you on 2mb witht he gamer profile. We will also need to cut your bell wire (orange) from the external master socket which should help some more.


      I suggest we or you cut the orange wire from the #3 terminal then call sky and ask them to un-cap you.

      Your upstream is also far to low. something isnt right.

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Capped on the 2048/416 gamer profile. Ring Sky to amend this.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      Angel_Rex (06-07-12)

    6. #4
      St1ffl3r's Avatar
      St1ffl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Capped on the 2048/416 gamer profile. Ring Sky to amend this.
      I know i am being a bit of a plum here, without the tech experience and only reading a little into this since ive been with them. What would i need to ask? I know its a real stupid q's but if they respond with some usual bs i wanna be able to counter this so i dont get mugged off again.

      thanks in advance...

    7. #5
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Getting your brother round & getting him to talk to Sky would be the way to go.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to timc For This Useful Post:

      St1ffl3r (06-07-12)

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Just call Sky and ask them to increase your speed. Tell them you can see by your noise margin that you can get 1 or 2 Mb more. You should also ask them to try your line on G.DMT, it will probably give you a decent speed and be more stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      St1ffl3r (06-07-12)

    11. #7
      St1ffl3r's Avatar
      St1ffl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      Getting your brother round & getting him to talk to Sky would be the way to go.
      Lol thats what i said and tried that on already!!

    12. #8
      St1ffl3r's Avatar
      St1ffl3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Well i have just spoken to Sky and they have said that my line can hold a connection at 3.5mb (which is an improvement) but the need to run an optimizer on the line as they could not change due to the gamer profile (apparently) So i gave them details of what was suggested only to be fobbed off with 'we'll run the optimizer which should increase the line speed automatically and we will go from there'

      I now have to wait 10 days to see if this changes and if not go back to them to get them to perhaps get my line on g.dmt.

      thanks for the help guys, ill be in touch if any more news.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2045 kbps 414 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.5 dB 36.8 dB
      Noise Margin 8.6 dB 16.0 dB

    13. #9
      Apoc3001's Avatar
      Apoc3001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      Essentially they've just put your line back into stabilisation which takes up to 10 days. It should only take about 48 hours to reach a higher speed. If it doesn't improve after the 10th day ring again. If they say they will try optimising again then ask them to go through to the customer solutions team who can manually reconfigure it there and then.

    14. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I think Sky are Capping my connection

      They should have put your line on G.DMT, configured it and be done with it. Long lines nearly always have problems with ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION