Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

    This is a discussion on Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I've had a nose around the forums and couldn't seem to find a definitive guide on how to ...

    1. #1
      Bibbo20's Avatar
      Bibbo20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      Hi there,

      I've had a nose around the forums and couldn't seem to find a definitive guide on how to do this.

      Basically moved into a new place where we have Sky Broadband, but I still have my old Sky Router from a previous place. The router has to be at the front of the flat, so that means that myself and my other flatmate can't get signal in our rooms at the back (brick walls). So I was wondering if there was any way to use my old router to boost the signal. Would anyone know how to accomplish this?

      Both of the routers are the D-Link DSL-2640S model.

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      Simple: You will need to configure the 2nd router (link to guide shown below) and connect it to the main router using either a long Ethernet cable or a pair of HomePlugs.

      How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      You could connect the second router via a long ethernet lead to the first, so you could site it closer to your PC and use it as a wireless access point. You'd need to change its IP address (eg to 192.168.0.100 and disable its DHCP server so they don't conflict with the main router.

      Homeplugs would be another alternative.

    5. #4
      Bibbo20's Avatar
      Bibbo20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      Thanks, I did manage to get that to work last night, however I was hoping there would be a way to do it wirelessly as it means my flatmates can't close their bedroom door due to the 10m ethernet cable I was using. Is it not possible to do that? Buying homeplugs is an option, we were thinking of that before, however it would be handy to be able to accomplish it without spending any cash!

    6. #5
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      To do it via wireless, I think you'd need WDS support on both routers, which the standard sky router lacks, and it would not be wise to flash generic firmware onto your main sky router, even if it were available.

      I have actually built some generic firmware with WDS support (untested) and wireless N for the sky dlink, but currently it has a significant bug,

    7. #6
      Bibbo20's Avatar
      Bibbo20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      Ah fair enough, I've gone ahead with using the 10m cable and pinned it to the skirting boards to keep it out of the way. Do I need to forward ports on the one I'm using to boost the signal? Or will it use the settings from the main router?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      Your main router will handle all the port forwarding and DHCP services as the D-Link should have DHCP disabled and isn't taking traffic directly from the Internet.

      In case you haven't already done so, remember that is you set the security & SSID identocally on both routers (but using different WiFi channels), when you move around with a WiFi device, it should automatically switch between the two routers.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Bibbo20's Avatar
      Bibbo20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Use second Sky D-Link DSL-2640S as signal booster

      I wasn't aware of that, I've set them to the same SSID now, cheers!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION