Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Hello, need advice

    This is a discussion on Hello, need advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I've been with SKY for a while now, and have just paid for a new router (Sagemcom F@st2504n, firmware ...

    1. #1
      cake246's Avatar
      cake246 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hello, need advice

      Hello,

      I've been with SKY for a while now, and have just paid for a new router (Sagemcom F@st2504n, firmware version 5.23.1a4N).

      The router works ok except that on my old SKY router, I used to be able to switch it off/on, or reboot, and I'd get a new IP address. This is not happening with the new router. However many times I restart or reboot, I get the same IP address.

      To be clear, I'd like a new IP everytime I reboot.

      All the router options are set to the default. It just doesnt seem to be giving me new IP addresses.


      To be honest, Im disappointed, as the last router SKY provided wasnt very good at all either, and now this one doesnt seem to be working as I expected it would.

      Do you think SKY would give me a refund on this router?

      Im aware that some people do use non-SKY routers, any suggestions to brands/models?


      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      If you were able to change your IP with a reboot with your previous router, you were very much in the minority. Sky IP address are very 'sticky' and have been for some time now, no matter what router you use, Sky or non-Sky. It is possible your exchange/server has filled up and there is now a lack of addresses available and it is pure coincidence that you are now noticing this with the new router. Plug the old one back in and run it for a while and you will see.

      You might need to leave the router off overnight to get a new address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      cake246's Avatar
      cake246 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      Isitme,

      I disconnected the new router and reconnected the old router, and that one is giving me a new IP everytime I reboot (5 times in a row).

      I then disconnected the old, and connected the new router, and its giving me the exact same IP as it was before, everytime I reboot (?)

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      You must have a 'magic' router. You are the only one this is happening to, look through the forum and you will see what I mean..Not one single person has reported this happening.

      I doubt if Sky will be prepared to take the router back for this reason, they will say there is no legitimate reason to have your IP changed. When the new IPv6 is introduced, you will probably have the same IP for the life of your broadband connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      cake246's Avatar
      cake246 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      Oh, I thought that was the way it worked for everybody.

      I would have prefered it that way

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      There is no real reason why a Sky broadband user should have to change their IP at all, never mind every reboot.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      cake246's Avatar
      cake246 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice

      I was just thinking in terms of security.

      I sometimes go to confrontational area's of the web

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hello, need advice


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION