Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Low noise margin

    This is a discussion on Low noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please click on the above picture for my router stats - is there any easier way to display them? Hi ...

    1. #1
      zeuss20's Avatar
      zeuss20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAST GRINSTEAD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Low noise margin

      Low noise margin-router-stats-1830-25th-june-2012.jpg


      Please click on the above picture for my router stats - is there any easier way to display them?

      Hi

      I seem to get disconnected from the net periodically , I've spent the best part of the weekend and this afternoon, tryiing to get to the bottom of the problem

      I've replaced all filters in the flat , and now when I make a phone call it seems not to affect the broadband , so that's sorted (I think)

      The only other issue I've had is that the external hard disk I use for file saving , - when I connect it to my computer , using a USB socket and its own power supply - it was disconnecting me from the internet. Eventually I traced the issue to a faulty power supply , and when I changed it over , the disconnect didn't happen

      I've rebooted the router several times this afternoon , and it's now stable , although still with the external hard disk connected - the noise margin remains at 3.8 - 3.9 , when it's disconnected , it's 5.1

      I was under the impression that a good noise margin was between 6-7

      My speed has gone up a lot in the past 3 years, when I joined sky , my speed was about 8MB , now it's closer to 16MB -

      I had no problem with sky broadband for a long time - until recently with the phones - which I believe I have now resolved,

      Is my low noise margin something Sky can help me with?

      I would be happy to accept a lower speed - - I had 13MB download speed for a long time and it was fine.

      My concern with such a low noise margin , is that when anything is connected, or the phone rings , I worry it will cut off the broadband
      Last edited by zeuss20; 25-06-12 at 07:38 PM. Reason: note


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Low noise margin

      Sky updated the DLM software and it can now utilise lower Noise Margins where the line can support it. If there are too many errors it will slow you down again.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Low noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sky updated the DLM software and it can now utilise lower Noise Margins where the line can support it. If there are too many errors it will slow you down again.
      can i just ask, when did this start taking place, because my uncle recently joined sky and was instantly put on this lower noise margin.

      and how do you go about getting a lower noise margin put into place?
      just call up?
      or will it auto be changed?

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Low noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by imdag2 View Post
      can i just ask, when did this start taking place, because my uncle recently joined sky and was instantly put on this lower noise margin.
      Earlier this year. From memory it was in April.

      Quote Originally Posted by imdag2 View Post
      and how do you go about getting a lower noise margin put into place?
      just call up?
      or will it auto be changed?
      On this forum we have seen a few members who have been with Sky for a while have their lines automatically reconfigured. You can call Sky to get your line reconfigured (i.e. ask the to restart the DLM process) but DLM is constantly monitoring all our lines.

      If you want to specifically see whether your connection may benefit from the lower noise margins, could I ask you to start a new thread. In the initial post please mention how your setup is connected to the Internet (extensions, Master socket, filters) and include your router's connection stats.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Low noise margin

      Is my low noise margin something Sky can help me with?

      I would be happy to accept a lower speed - - I had 13MB download speed for a long time and it was fine.
      You could call Sky and ask them to reduce your speed to 16 Mb. This should give you a higher noise margin and a more stable line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Low noise margin

      In my experience lower margin's will just make error correction go into overload
      I could understand a 6db margin on a clean line but 4 db seems a bit much

      Shame they havnt altered the upstream margins mine's still locked at 9db

    8. #7
      zeuss20's Avatar
      zeuss20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAST GRINSTEAD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Low noise margin

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/2030015635.png

      My latest stats

      Noise Margin 6 downstream , 8 upstream

      Line attenuation 22 - Downstream
      Line Attenuation 11.4 - Downstream
      Last edited by zeuss20; 26-06-12 at 03:33 PM. Reason: extra information

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION