Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Any difference?

    This is a discussion on Any difference? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Would there be a difference in download speed between using a third party modem/router like billion 7800N as the only ...

    1. #1
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Any difference?

      Would there be a difference in download speed between using a third party modem/router like billion 7800N as the only modem/router (doing away completely with sky router) AND using it downstream of sky router (by connecting it to sky router)?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Any difference?

      Covering all bases here I see. (reference to the Billion forum)

      The 7800N is a far better router and used as the main connection to Sky will allow tweaking of the downstream noise margin to get that bit better speed if your line is good enough.

      On mine I can get an extra 2meg stable when I tweak but at 16meg anyway I rarely bother.

    4. #3
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the quick reply. Is making it a second router makes tweaking difficulty or impossible?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any difference?

      If you piggy-back on to the Sky router, tweaking the Billion will make no difference, you have to connect it direct to the line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Now I get it. Thanks

    7. #6
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My broadband will probably have to be the one that will expressly allow the use of a third party router

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Any difference?

      April last year, during all the issues surrounding the Sagem 2304n, it was confirmed on the Sky forum that no one had ever been punished for using their own routers.

      Since then I haven't heard of anyone being punished.

      As for the call centres, there are some who will refuse help if you don't have the Sky router connected. This is mostly down to lack of knowledge that actually being related to a fault. One member reported that the support person refused to help as the Sky router's IP Address wasn't 192.168.0.1.

      Obviously the discussion of topics like this is banned on the Sky forum, but here on SkyUser you will find a huge amount of information.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yeah I understand. I may be moving home when I plan to ditch Sky and either reapply as a new Sky user in order to enjoy all the goodies that come with being a new sky user or join another broadband provider especially considering some prime premiership matches won by BT. Sky sports are one of the main reasons I am with Sky, but I don't want to pay twice for the prime matches, considering most other TV providers now include sky sports in their packages.
      Moreover, somehow, I don't like violating terms and conditions of a contract I sign up to (using third party router), even when I know I am right. My line was previously 1.5Mbps downstream speed with a throughput of 0.95Mbps, after following you guys advice I contacted Sky and they bumped the downstream speed to about 2Mbps. I then started using billion 7800N and he bumped up the speed to about 3.8Mbps with a throughput of about 3.2Mbps. A great deal for somebody that could not even watch youtube but now watches film previews in HD on iTune.
      Considering all the above factors, Sky is no longer the favourite, I want a line that will give me 8Mbps minimum with a freedom to use the router I like without feeling somehow guilty.

    10. #9
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Any difference?

      The line speed you achieve is really based on location ie how far from the exchange & the line condition. So all ISPs will be limited by those conditions generally.

      Fibre obviously changes those rules.

      As for the footie , that's for the season after next.

    11. #10
      Babaikram's Avatar
      Babaikram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I do understand, but the contracts with service providers nowadays are hardly only a year long, meanwhile, my changing is likely to be around September, thus running to the season after next, even if the contract is a year old. Let us just say I am more aware and wiser now since I join you guys on the forum especially guys like Isitme

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION