Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Absolutely godawful speeds

    This is a discussion on Absolutely godawful speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm really at my wits end now, sky unlimited has been great to me, but the past 3 or 4 ...

    1. #1
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Absolutely godawful speeds

      I'm really at my wits end now, sky unlimited has been great to me, but the past 3 or 4 weeks it has taken a MASSIVE nosedive.

      It ain't my stats, it ain't anything i've changed, it ain't just me (my friend in the same street has the same issues).

      First thing i noticed was my latency spiking upto 200-400 in Rift from a normal of about 62. Then I noticed this affected my general speeds while downloading. Tonight though is new levels of awfulness, just did several speedtests on speedtest.net and tried to download something through giganews. I have a throughput, at this second, of 50K when my connection is saturated, speedtest put me at 0.25mbps.

      This only happens after about 6pm till about 12pm, peak time, and unfortunately hits me every single night I raid in Rift to the point where it is almost unplayable. I was damn close to going for fibre, but if this is my reward for being a loyal customer I think I'd rather go elsewhere.

      Line stats, after a fresh reconnect are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14144 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 11 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      Are you using WiFi? If so, try Ethernet. Might also be worth using a decent speed tester
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      To rule out software problems, start in Safe Mode with Networking and do a speed test here - Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      It ain't anything on my end as i said, i ain't using wi-fi, i ain't got anything hidden on the machine. Right now, i'm downloading through giganews at a solid 1.45MB/s which is what my connection should be doing.

      Last night, after I posted my speed started to rise, from 50K/s up slowly to 1M/s about an hour later then back to full speed when I came back home. It HAS to be something at Sky's end, either at the exhange or saturation of my local loop at peak times.

      As I said it ONLY happens between 6pm and 12pm, and it is a gradual decrease and increase again, the problem is it decreases to a point whereby the connection is nigh on impossible to use, it took me about 20 seconds to load this site last night, took several attempts to load the speedtester.net site aswell.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      You may be on one of the exchanges which are experiencing difficulties, have a look here and put in your post code. -
      Sky Help and Support | Service Status

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      Isn't listed on there, and it's happening again tonight.
      Speed test here gave me 3.15Mbps, speedtest.net gave me http://www.speedtest.net/result/2014185435.png
      Ping to bbc fluctuates between 76 and 450ms.

      I dunno what to do, should I contact Sky? Cause it makes my connection unusable and gaming totally random.

      Line stats atm:
      Connection Speed 14144 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 11 db

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      You should contact Sky. It is possible your exchange is having problems and has not been reported. Sky will not know about a fault until someone reports it. There is a chance that the card in your exchange is faulty, it does not happen often but it can.

      If Sky follow their usual script for low throughput with a good sync they will ask you to do a netstat to see how many connections you have. If you have over 10 they will tell you that is too many and that is your problem. With modern PCs and broadband this is nonsense but you have to humour them. Open a Command Prompt and type netstat -b, this will show what exe is using the connection, make sure you recognise them all. You will need to Run as Administrator to do this in Win7/Vista. It goes without saying that the fewer tabs or clients you have open when you do this the better.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      Thats kinda why I held off contacting Sky, hate this jumping through hoops when I know 100% it isn't something on my end. I'm pretty damn literate with computers, I know them inside out, I know how my connection should be behaving and this is massively outside the norm when nothing has changed on my end. The only PC connected to my routed atm is this one, there are only 3 or 4 processes using the connection and most of those are idle (firefox, messenger and a logitech driver).

      I will contact them tomorrow, see whats up. Would it be better (cheaper / less annoying ) to ring then or can I email them without them fobbing me off. Less hoops I have to jump through the better, just wanna talk to somebody who gets it without asking me to "turn it off, then turn it back on".

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      Getting them to realise the difference between throughput and sync speed is always difficult. You could try using the Contact Us form, but even then it depends on who gets it. The first reply usually refers you to the Sky online help, which is useless for something like this, so it could take a lot of messages to get your problem across. Using the phone there is a good chance they will pass you to the Customer Solutions Team who are generally more clued up than the first line support. If you have Sky Talk the call is free, is not have a look at Saynoto08 for a landline number. This one was working but I don't know if it still is - 0207 1267020, go through the menu and select Broadband faults.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Absolutely godawful speeds

      Cheers for the info, just back home, did another speed test: http://www.speedtest.net/result/2014411692.png and http://www.speedtest.net/result/2014409500.png

      Giganews back to full speed aswell, 1.45MB/s. Just somebody saturating the exchange in some way at peak times. Had tried raiding earlier but latency jumped up to 10000 at times, was utterly unplayable.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION