Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
    Results 61 to 67 of 67

    poor speeds and dropouts

    This is a discussion on poor speeds and dropouts within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HAHA just bin onto the upper level tech and she reconfigured my line with a cap of 4mb altho im ...

    1. #61
      thequeenscheese's Avatar
      thequeenscheese is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HYDE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      HAHA just bin onto the upper level tech and she reconfigured my line with a cap of 4mb altho im only getting just over 3mb at the min she did say when it stablizes i may get more, and the box errors are no more..

      maybe a sticky about the ringer wires would be a good idea both in the tv and bb section...

      cheers for the help itsme

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 11:07:36Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 249 270 0 99 105 00:07:48
      LAN 100M/Full 48599 30434 0 1384 81 11:07:31
      WLAN 11M/54M 73980 54577 0 1861 192 11:07:19
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      With the popular use of Filtered Faceplates, removing the ring wire isn't needed as much anymore as the filtered faceplate will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal an this should prevent the ring wire from causing interference. If an NTE5 socket isn't available it can be more beneficial to consider getting one fitted and then also fit a filtered faceplate too.

      Can I just ask if you removed the Ring wire on all your telephone sockets too? Just leaving one end connected can still result in an issue.

      Finally not every telephone in use will work without the ring wire fitted. You do need yo be aware of some of these facts.

      Personally I often link people to the page on the Kitz website on this topic, but if you do wish to compose something useful then please feel free to do so. If it is good we can then sticky it.

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #63
      thequeenscheese's Avatar
      thequeenscheese is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HYDE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      With the popular use of Filtered Faceplates, removing the ring wire isn't needed as much anymore as the filtered faceplate will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal an this should prevent the ring wire from causing interference. If an NTE5 socket isn't available it can be more beneficial to consider getting one fitted and then also fit a filtered faceplate too.

      Can I just ask if you removed the Ring wire on all your telephone sockets too? Just leaving one end connected can still result in an issue.

      Finally not every telephone in use will work without the ring wire fitted. You do need yo be aware of some of these facts.

      Personally I often link people to the page on the Kitz website on this topic, but if you do wish to compose something useful then please feel free to do so. If it is good we can then sticky it.

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::
      Hi yes i have removed it from all sockets and i was aware that some phones reqiure it to power the ring, i think it would be a good idea to do a simple sticky on how to do this as i think there will be a lot of people who will be in the same boat as i was especially in newbuilds like mine is, and i can cinfidently say if mine is theres anothr 60 or so flats the same just around me, and if id have found sutch a thread i could have saved myself a lot of time and agro trying to sort it out.
      As for writting one you may want to get someone a bit more articulate (and a better speller lol) than me to post it tho..

      basically what i did was remove all wires that wasnt in no.s 2 and 5 slot on the socket and made sure all extra sockets had corrisponding wires in no.s 2 and 5 also then called sky asked to be put through to upeer level tech and got them to work some line magic..

    5. #64
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      Theres a tutorial linked on the home page.

      Sky User - How to remove the ring wire from your master socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #65
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      Thanks Ged, I forgot about that one.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #66
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      maybe a sticky about the ringer wires would be a good idea both in the tv and bb section...
      What's the point? No one ever reads them unless they are referred there by someone else.

      There are tutorials on just about everything you can think of, but once again, unless someone is pointed to them, they don't get read.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #67
      thequeenscheese's Avatar
      thequeenscheese is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HYDE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor speeds and dropouts

      maybe a different tag of " how to increase your broadband speed-removing the ring wire"
      or something along those lines would be a better idea, if you dont know that the ring wire exists or affects your speeds then you wouldnt know to look up anything to do with a ring wire..

     

     
    Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION