Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16
    Like Tree1Likes

    New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

    This is a discussion on New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm new here so please be gentle :P I was activated yesterday on Sky's Broadband and Line Rental deal - ...

    1. #1
      ma.bo's Avatar
      ma.bo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hucknall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      I'm new here so please be gentle :P

      I was activated yesterday on Sky's Broadband and Line Rental deal - the unlimited one which is packaged with my Sky TV.

      On a trace route it appears I am connected to the Easynet LLU with a sync speed of 4095 (which I believe is Sky's starting sync pre-dlm).

      From the information on this site, shouldn't I be connected to Sky's own LLU (as I am a new customer taking both PHONE and BROADBAND) / Virtual Network rather than Easynets. Or doesn't this make any difference?

      Another point for confusion is the conflicting information regarding Easynets DLM. Several users have stated Easynet DSLAMS don't use DLM and its manual set from day 1 - if this is correct why I am syncing at 4093? No engineer has visited my property of the exchange as the line was already installed and connected to sky (from the previous occupiers).

      So basically my questions are...

      *Is it correct that my trace route shows Easynet as my LLU rather than sky?
      *Does Easynet use DLM?

      Here are some line stats in case you ask...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 19.2 dB
      Noise Margin 15.8 dB 22.5 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      DLM is used on all connections and has since day 1 of DLM - it'll kick in within the next day or so

      Post the actual traceroute and we'll confirm but AFAIK if you have line rental with Sky you're on the ISAM and not a DSLAM
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      ma.bo's Avatar
      ma.bo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hucknall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      Traceroute...

      Traceroute has started…


      traceroute to BBC - Homepage (212.58.246.93), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
      1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 1.322 ms 1.013 ms 0.918 ms
      2 cr0.emhuckn.uk.easynet.net (87.87.250.65) 36.510 ms 36.681 ms 38.097 ms
      3 ip-87-87-150-97.easynet.co.uk (87.87.150.97) 33.315 ms 32.744 ms 33.889 ms
      4 89.200.131.171 (89.200.131.171) 46.358 ms 45.033 ms 43.305 ms
      5 212.58.238.189 (212.58.238.189) 41.356 ms 39.296 ms 41.732 ms

      Also from the following stats what sort of connection speed should i expect?

      relative capacity occupation: 100%
      noise margin upstream: 23.0 db
      output power downstream: 19.3 dbm
      attenuation upstream: 20.8 db
      relative capacity occupation: 100%
      noise margin downstream: 26.4 db
      output power upstream: 6.3 dbm
      attenuation downstream: 38.0 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      You are still on the Easynet DSLAM, but will be switched to the SVBN ISAM when a place comes available. It is possible your exchange has not been fully upgraded. It will make no difference to your connection.

      I would guess you will get 11-12Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      When I first joined I was on easynet for about 5 days, then it popped over! Might happen to yours

    7. #6
      ma.bo's Avatar
      ma.bo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hucknall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamLC View Post
      When I first joined I was on easynet for about 5 days, then it popped over! Might happen to yours
      This seems rather pointless. Does that mean I will have to restart my DLM again? Agh. I have been waiting for a month to have a decent broadband connection!!

      All I want is Netflix!!! lol
      williammorris likes this.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      Non-svbn Stinger - 4096/512 start rates
      ISAM - 4096/608 start rates

      You're on WLR3 for your line rental and a stinger for your broadband service. Both services will be migrated to an ISAM in due course most likely. And, yes, a migration will indeed trigger a profile optimisation again.

    9. #8
      ma.bo's Avatar
      ma.bo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hucknall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      24 hours at 100% uptime and DLM either hadn't started or it decided not to give me an increase...

      Sgh. Lord give me decent broadband!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      Does that mean I will have to restart my DLM again?
      Even if you are not switched during the training period, which is likely, DLM training, when run for the second time, does not start again at 4Mb. It starts from where you are. The only problem is that if you are in the habit of frequently switching off your router, that can effect the outcome.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      ma.bo's Avatar
      ma.bo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hucknall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User: Easynet / Sky LLU & DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Even if you are not switched during the training period, which is likely, DLM training, when run for the second time, does not start again at 4Mb. It starts from where you are. The only problem is that if you are in the habit of frequently switching off your router, that can effect the outcome.
      No. I have a modem attached to an Apple Airport. Its on ALL THE TIME! My uptime with my previous supplier was about 30 days - at this point I would do a precautionary restart mainly to rotate my WPA2 Password.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION