Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

    This is a discussion on Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good idea, Isitme! I will try that. However, I've just spoken to Sky about removing the upstream cap and they ...

    1. #11
      losip's Avatar
      losip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brighton Kemptown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Good idea, Isitme! I will try that.

      However, I've just spoken to Sky about removing the upstream cap and they admit that it's because interleaving is turned on but they say they can't turn it off because I'm on an ISAM not a DSLAM. Now, the Sky Broadband was sold as having up to 1.3Mbps upstream speed. It will NOT be possible for this to happen with interleaving on so I think I've been sold a pup here and the service has been seriously mis-described.

      I've still got time to cancel the broadband but the phone line was installed earlier and cannot be cancelled without paying fees. It seems I'll have to put up with it for 12 months before I can move somewhere that will honour its advertisements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Another very possible cause of your difference in connection speeds is down to the quality of the two different lines. Initially I thought that you were comparing the same line pre-Sky and now with Sky.

      Have you checked to see if there is any noise on the line? Using a corded telephone plugged into the Master socket, dial '1' and listen carefully. You could try this on the PlusNet line as well and compare the results.

      As for the lines, there are many reasons for quality differences. I would start by taking a look at the line between the Master Socket and the Green Street Box. Check particularly around your home for any BT Junction Boxes and look at the actual lines too. Is there any obvious damage? What are the joints like? If the Master Socket new or is there any corrosion in the socket?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      losip's Avatar
      losip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brighton Kemptown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Just for an academic test, I tried IsitMe's idea of swapping routers. It's not the router at fault so it's the ISAM and/or line pair that's slowing everything down. Actually, I'm quite glad I did a resync on the PlusNet; I've now got 6.043 Mb down versus Sky 4.094Mb - a big difference that I can't see is due to a measly 2.5db extra attentuation - can it?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      the Sky Broadband was sold as having up to 1.3Mbps upstream speed.
      No one on Sky gets 1.3 Mb upload. I can only remember one member who got more than 1.2, most get 1.1xx. It seems 1.3Mb is the maximum theoretical upload on the annex used, but in practice, no one actually gets it. This may be down to interleaving being used, I don't really know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Looking at your noise margins, 6.2 dB/12.7 dB, it looks like you may have noise in the higher frequencies. This being the case you may do better with G.DMT or ADSL2, which do not use the higher frequencies. It may be worthwhile asking Sky to try your line on one of these.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by losip View Post
      Good idea, Isitme! I will try that.

      However, I've just spoken to Sky about removing the upstream cap and they admit that it's because interleaving is turned on but they say they can't turn it off because I'm on an ISAM not a DSLAM. Now, the Sky Broadband was sold as having up to 1.3Mbps upstream speed. It will NOT be possible for this to happen with interleaving on so I think I've been sold a pup here and the service has been seriously mis-described.

      I've still got time to cancel the broadband but the phone line was installed earlier and cannot be cancelled without paying fees. It seems I'll have to put up with it for 12 months before I can move somewhere that will honour its advertisements.
      Interleve is irrelevant as Sky don't use fastpath (and have never advertised as doing so). Apparently some have managed to get swapped over but you're looking at literally a handful of users
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      losip's Avatar
      losip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brighton Kemptown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      This one looks like he was successful:
      Fastpath...

    9. #18
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      thats an easynet dslam

      im on fastpath also

      i get 1148 interleave upstream 1216 fastpath upstream
      at a 9db target margin

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by losip View Post
      This one looks like he was successful:
      Fastpath...
      And I did say handful
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      losip's Avatar
      losip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brighton Kemptown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is PlusNet line speed faster than Sky?

      How do I get their hand big enough to include me ;-)

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION