Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky tech

    This is a discussion on Sky tech within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am a meber of the tech support team for the bb product, i know this team is getting a ...

    1. #1
      Skytech's Avatar
      Skytech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky tech

      I am a meber of the tech support team for the bb product, i know this team is getting a hammering after reading some of these posts on the forums etc, i know that its frustrating for some customers there who cant get a resolution but i can assure u if u stick by us the problem will get sorted, it is taking some time but keep in mind this is a new product and with any new product there will be teething problems, but they will be ironed out.

      any questions just contact me and i will help if i can, but i wont take any nonsense or put myself or my employment under risk,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      but i wont take any nonsense or put myself or my employment under risk,
      Good call, I am sure you won't have any nonsense from the members on here, genuine problems yes, abuse NO




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i realise as im sure most of the members on here do that there has been start up problems with sky broadband
      but it would be good to know that sky realise there are problems and are looking into it a fix for the router problems

      i for one feel that the lack of feedback from sky about the router problems
      only makes matters worse
      i know im right " she told me i was "

    5. #4
      Skytech's Avatar
      Skytech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router problems? wat sort of problems exactly are u havin with the router? who said u were rite? and about what?

    6. #5
      loki's Avatar
      loki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WESTERN (WSWES)
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Skytech View Post
      Router problems? wat sort of problems exactly are u havin with the router? who said u were rite? and about what?
      Where to start...? The main problem with the router is that it doesn't do what it fundamentally has to do to maintain a stable ADSL2+ connection; renegotiate the Connection Speed (sync) on the fly to compensate for the variable SNRs that everybody experiences. Until that is sorted out there will be no end to the dropped connection/slow connection/reboot problems that many SKY users are experiencing.
      Last edited by loki; 10-10-06 at 02:03 AM.

    7. #6
      cleverdave2k's Avatar
      cleverdave2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      stoke on trent
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The main problem for me is the problem loading certain sites and xbox livea are you getting any where to solving this problem as i rely on ebay to make some extra cash pay the bills

    8. #7
      Cedi Nullis's Avatar
      Cedi Nullis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Do Sky acknowledge that a lot of people have unacceptably slow speeds after1700? It seems from posts here that they don't think the problem is thiers.

    9. #8
      chuichi's Avatar
      chuichi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with sites

      I see I'm not the only one having problems accessing certain sites such as ebay, would really really like to know how to resolve this annoying problem!

    10. #9
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Has anyone with the ebay problem tried contacting ebay to ask why your ip is being blocked?

      Just a thought if it is a filter issue it may be more quickly resolved if ebay think they are losing money!

    11. #10
      boab2791's Avatar
      boab2791 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lennoxtown (WSLEX)
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Milton Of Campsie
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Other problems with the router include having UPNP enabled causes the router to lock up after 16 minutes and needs a reboot to resolve. This obvioulsy will be seen by the exchange as a dropped connection, too many of them and your SNR target goes high which I believe my problem is.

      How do I get the SNR Target set back to the default, mine is at 15db at present.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION