Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree1Likes

    Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

    This is a discussion on Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by ethicaldilemma I wonder if ISP's have the technology to throttle on an individual basis? Just makes me ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by ethicaldilemma View Post
      I wonder if ISP's have the technology to throttle on an individual basis? Just makes me wonder because most always assume that all will have the same symptoms and at the same time if throttling occurs.
      If you have done nothing wrong and are being throttled / slowed down during peak hours and are on an LLU product, have you actually considered it may just be a contention issue, or lack of available bandwidth. Sky do not throttle or shape on any LLU product. Sky do have capacity issues though, which is a completely different thing altogether.

      You should have had the internet years ago when 3 or 4 people on a fat pipe could cripple the whole exchange for everyone else. That was when things were really bad.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post

      You should have had the internet years ago when 3 or 4 people on a fat pipe could cripple the whole exchange for everyone else. That was when things were really bad.
      That's exactly what VerminMedium is like now.. just 2 people in an area both downloading can bring that area to it's knees.. Now with the throttling they can accommodate just 4 people - all capped at 52mbps.

      Lovely!

    4. #13
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      I did 18GB overnight and I feel guilty lol!.

      But I am sure Sky don't know/care.

    5. #14
      ethicaldilemma's Avatar
      ethicaldilemma is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      lol you sound like someone with a grudge against Sky Broadband, /just saying.
      What I would like to see, instead of ISP's offering faster broadband speeds, is a new type of line installed from my house to the exchange so that errors don't occur.

      When is this ever going to happen?

      We really don't need 30+ MB broadband

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Normally I would suggest that you do some research, but you are obviously intent on causing problems by spouting off rubbish all the time.

      A small number of errors are always going to be present. They are even going to be present on you home network periodically.

      Fibre broadband can offer a system with fewer errors than copper cables, but electrical failures, diggers, sun spots and all sort of other factors can interfere with your broadband.

      So basically it certainly won't happen in the near future.

      Since you appear to be trolling this forum, this is your last warning.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by ethicaldilemma View Post
      When is this ever going to happen?
      Probably when hell freezes over.

      What I would like to see, instead of ISP's offering faster broadband speeds, is a new type of line installed from my house to the exchange so that errors don't occur.
      I guess you want your ISP to put a lovely new line in, give you a brand new top of the range router, a shiny new dect phone, and that you want it all, for absolutely nothing per month.

      As per Scubbie, it seems that you are just here to slate Sky, which is completely against the ethos of this forum. We are an unofficial help and support forum, run by Sky Users for Sky Users, and generally most people help (or try to) each other out. I understand that you may be aggrieved, I fully understand that you may be completely cheesed off with Sky, if so, perhaps it would be an idea to sign upto the official forums and troll there?

      If you wish for me to delete your forum account, feel free to send me a PM - Seems as you like using a proxy etc One could assume that you are just here to cause trouble, or slate Sky, of which we will not tolerate.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      ethicaldilemma's Avatar
      ethicaldilemma is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Actually I'm not on here to slate anyone. See that cheap cable dangling from the side of my house, I want that to go. You know, that cable that goes from my house to the telephone pole. I want a really pricey, thick gold plated cable installed instead. Are these available? I'd be willing to pay for it.

    9. #18
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by ethicaldilemma View Post
      Actually I'm not on here to slate anyone. See that cheap cable dangling from the side of my house, I want that to go. You know, that cable that goes from my house to the telephone pole. I want a really pricey, thick gold plated cable installed instead. Are these available? I'd be willing to pay for it.
      What a strange thing to say.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    10. #19
      NilSatisOptimum's Avatar
      NilSatisOptimum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNNN
      Broadband ISP: Fibre 38d/19.5u
      Router: Billion Bipac
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Y Drenewydd
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by ethicaldilemma View Post
      Actually I'm not on here to slate anyone. See that cheap cable dangling from the side of my house, I want that to go. You know, that cable that goes from my house to the telephone pole. I want a really pricey, thick gold plated cable installed instead. Are these available? I'd be willing to pay for it.
      Then its Openreach you need in most cases, perhaps VM although they dont deploy and even some new company however more fail then succeed.

    11. #20
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Is Sky broadband unlimited truly unlimited?

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      What a strange thing to say.

      Sent from my ST18i
      I was thinking the same.. Anyway let him. I am sure the Gypos would have that off his house sharpish LOL

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION