Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Orange Internet Light Issue

    This is a discussion on Orange Internet Light Issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, We have had a solid orange internet light (@ light) on the router for around 7 weeks now, the ...

    1. #1
      Adzha's Avatar
      Adzha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Orange Internet Light Issue

      Hi,

      We have had a solid orange internet light (@ light) on the router for around 7 weeks now, the connection suddenly dropped and has not come back.

      We've spoken many times to Sky who have run some standard tests (tiers one and two, and sold us a new router) and sent someone to the exchange, but their service has been poor on the whole and we are still without any broadband or help to the problem!

      An electrician has worked on the telephone wiring and replaced this all (including changing the master socket location, so it is where it should be) in case of an internal problem, however the internet remains orange. A BT line test shows the line is fine also.

      I have posted the router statistics below (using an ethernet connection) and don't know what else to try, it seems the broadband is hitting the house but not coming down the phone line - I would be really grateful if someone could help!

      Usual phone socket connection:
      System Up Time: 0:19:40


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER/PPPoA 0:00:00
      LAN Up 13776 13036 9136 1330 0:19:40
      WLAN Up 654 371 180 51 0:19:18


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1534 kbps 498 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.5 dB 33.6 dB
      Noise Margin 6.1 dB 9.0 dB

      Master test socket:
      System Up Time: 0:04:47


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER/PPPoA 0:00:00
      LAN Up 151 193 7872 1098 0:04:47
      WLAN Up 0:04:25


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1530 kbps 489 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 dB 33.3 dB
      Noise Margin 6.4 dB 9.0 dB


      Thanks in advance and please let me know if you need any further details


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Orange Internet Light Issue

      It appears that ADSL is enabled on your line, but for some reason you are not connecting to the Sky servers. On the off chance that it is a DNS error, give your PC/Laptop a fixed IP address and enter the DNS servers as instructed here - How to Assign a Static IP Address in XP, Vista, or Windows 7 - How-To Geek

      Remember your routers IP address will be 192.168.0.2 and Gateway 192.168.0.1, not as they are shown on the article. The DNS addresses, which are Googles public address are fine, use them.

      If this does not help all you can do is keep on at Sky to get it fixed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Orange Internet Light Issue

      Have you been back onto Sky since the replacement router was sent? Get in contact if it's the same with both routers.

    5. #4
      Adzha's Avatar
      Adzha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Orange Internet Light Issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It appears that ADSL is enabled on your line, but for some reason you are not connecting to the Sky servers. On the off chance that it is a DNS error, give your PC/Laptop a fixed IP address and enter the DNS servers as instructed here - How to Assign a Static IP Address in XP, Vista, or Windows 7 - How-To Geek

      Remember your routers IP address will be 192.168.0.2 and Gateway 192.168.0.1, not as they are shown on the article. The DNS addresses, which are Googles public address are fine, use them.

      If this does not help all you can do is keep on at Sky to get it fixed.
      Thanks for the quick reply, I've tried setting a static IP address but this unfortunately does not fix the problem (ethernet or wifi).

      I guess it's back to Sky and possibly a telephone engineer!

    6. #5
      Adzha's Avatar
      Adzha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Orange Internet Light Issue

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Have you been back onto Sky since the replacement router was sent? Get in contact if it's the same with both routers.
      It's been the same with both routers and we've let Sky know, but they just don't care that our internet doesn't work!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION